X Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte des Internetauftritts www.bibb.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

The recognition of professional and vocational qualifications is a success story

© A. Hultsch

The monitoring results presented by Prof. Dr. Friedrich Hubert Esser, President of the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB), at a conference staged in Berlin by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research show that the “Law to improve the assessment and recognition of professional and vocational education and training qualifications acquired abroad”, which was passed by the Federal Government in 2012, has been a success. Yet challenges remain.

In its capacity as lead specialist and information agency, BIBB is closely involved with the implementation of the Recognition Act. “Our Monitoring Project clearly draws a positive and multi-layered picture of current practice,” stressed Professor Esser. “The opportunities offered by recognition are being utilised, and even partial recognition means transparency and benefits on the labour market.” Professor Esser pointed out that there had been 26,500 applications during the first two years that the law had been in force. More than 16,500 persons had received certification that their professional or vocational qualification was fully equivalent to the German reference occupation. Over the past three years, it had proved possible to accord either full or partial recognition in 96 percent of cases where a decision was reached. Although almost a quarter of applications (22 percent) related to non-regulated technical and commercial private sector occupations or to recognised training occupations in the craft trades, the three reference occupations most in demand were all regulated professions. These are doctor, registered general nurse and physiotherapist.

Professor Esser also underlined that interest in seeking advice was rising and that the guidance infrastructure was good. The increasing demand was being reflected on the “Recognition in Germany” portal, which is housed at BIBB, and in the amount of face-to-face guidance being provided prior to, during and after the procedure. “Awareness of the act is growing all the time.” The advisory provision offered by the Federal Government, such as the hotline operated by the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees and the advisory bodies of the “Integration through Training” (IQ) funding programme and of the chambers of industry and commerce and chambers of crafts and trades are effective, highly popular and well established. The good guidance on offer had also meant that, in the case of the non-regulated occupations, the proportion of procedures resulting in a negative notice had fallen from 24.9 percent in 2012 to 4.4 percent in 2013.

"It is important to continue to monitor the development of recognition of qualifications acquired abroad."

(Prof. Dr. Esser)

Making skills analysis an established part of practice

© A. Hultsch

Professor Esser went on to say that the BIBB Monitoring Project also showed that use was being made of the possibility enshrined in the Recognition Act to take different types of learning outcomes into account. With regard to informal learning, it had become clear that occupational experience played a major role in the case of non-regulated occupations. The latest figures revealed that it had been used to compensate for substantial differences in about four in ten (42.1 percent) of completed procedures. In nearly all cases, consideration of occupational experience had resulted in recognition of full equivalence.

By way of contrast, professional experience is significantly less likely to be taken into consideration in the regulated sector. It was used as part of the equivalence assessment procedure in around one in ten (9.7 percent) cases in which a decision was reached. A similar picture was revealed with regard to the notices issued. Full equivalence without a compensation measure was identified in three quarters of procedures in which consideration was accorded to professional experience.

How are different learning outcomes acknowledged? “A competence assessment, the so-called skills analysis, is possible if someone is unable to present documentation through no fault of their own, a situation which refugees often find themselves in,” said Professor Esser. However, very little use of this opportunity had been made thus far. About 60 skills analyses had been conducted in 2013. Of these, 27 had resulted in full equivalence and 24 in partial equivalence. No recognition was awarded on nine occasions.

In the second part of his presentation, Professor Esser addressed the challenges that remained in terms of implementing the Recognition Act despite the success achieved hitherto. Firstly, there needed to be an improvement in the recognition process in cases where documentation was absent. This issue was being precisely targeted by the BIBB-coordinated “Prototyping Transfer” project with the aim of making the skills analysis an established part of practice. Secondly, recognition of competences acquired by informal and non-formal means needed to be expanded. “This is an area in which we must strengthen validation,” explained Professor Esser. “Such an approach is consistent with the objective of lifelong learning.” Experiences gained with the validation of learning outcomes pursuant to the Professional Qualifications Assessment Act BQFG could be used within a new legal framework that also includes German residents who have gone through the domestic educational system without achieving a formal qualification.

Professor Esser also urged an extension of continuing training provision and the removal of barriers to entry. The Recognition Act offered opportunities for development because continuing training courses were taken into account in the application process to compensate for substantial differences following identification of “partial equivalence”. It was also significant that training needs could be derived from the notices. “There must be enough vocational and academic continuing training provision in place, and this provision needs to be individually tailored to the objectives of those seeking recognition,” Professor Esser added. Neither should barriers to entry such as inconvenient course times or long distances to travel be permitted to stand in the way of continuing training wishes. “And provision needs to be customer oriented!”

Financing of the recognition procedures

© A. Hultsch

Professor Esser stated that financial hurdles along the route to recognition constituted the fourth challenge. “We need to remove these hurdles,” he demanded. Assumption of the costs of the recognition procedure by the Job Centres depended on the expected success of the recognition and subsequent labour market integration. “Unfortunately, cost is still a reason not to submit an application.” Since 2015, the special funds provided within the scope of the “Prototyping Transfer” project had been supporting applications in the implementation of skills analyses. “Nevertheless, there is still a need for the stakeholders involved to identify further financing routes.”

Apart from this, companies needed to be offered support in seizing the chances offered by recognition. The company survey carried out by BIBB in 2014 as part of the Monitoring Project showed that companies were aware of the presence of persons seeking recognition without having a particular focus on the issue. Almost 80 percent of companies had no reservations about employing persons with a foreign professional or vocational qualification. 20 percent were concerned that the qualification was not comparable to the German qualification despite recognition or that language knowledge was insufficient.

It had also emerged that two thirds of companies are prepared to assist staff with a recognition procedure. Many companies which have recruited persons with foreign professional or vocational qualifications mention the competences they bring in terms of intercultural skills and country knowledge. They also point out that not only migrants need to be “employment ready” if the requirements of trade and industry are to be met. Companies should also open up to a greater extent and, if necessary, offer something special (such as language courses) in order to acquire skilled workers.

Concluding his remarks, Professor Esser stated that the positive results of the Monitoring Project and the upcoming challenges clearly meant: “It is important to continue to monitor the development of recognition of qualifications acquired abroad, in a systematic way and on an empirical and long-term basis.”

X

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte des Internetauftritts www.bibb.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Die Anerkennung von Berufsabschlüssen ist eine Erfolgsstory

© A. Hultsch

Das 2012 von der Bundesregierung beschlossene Gesetz zur Anerkennung im Ausland erworbener Berufsabschlüsse ist erfolgreich. Dies zeigen die Ergebnisse des Monitoring, die der Präsident des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung (BIBB), Prof. Dr. Friedrich Hubert Esser, auf einer Tagung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung und des BIBB in Berlin vorstellte. Doch es bleiben Herausforderungen.

Das BIBB ist als zentrale Fach- und Informationsstelle mit der Umsetzung des Anerkennungsgesetzes befasst. „Unser Monitoring zeichnet eindeutig ein positives, vielschichtiges Bild der aktuellen Praxis“, betonte Esser. „Die Möglichkeiten der Anerkennung werden genutzt. Und auch die teilweise Anerkennung sorgt für Transparenz und Vorteile auf dem Arbeitsmarkt“. In den ersten beiden Jahren des Gesetzes habe es 26.500 Anträge gegeben. Mehr als 16.500 Personen sei eine volle Gleichwertigkeit ihres Berufsabschlusses mit dem deutschen Referenzberuf attestiert worden. Bei 96 Prozent der in den vergangenen drei Jahren beschiedenen Anträge war es möglich, den Abschluss entweder voll oder teilweise anzuerkennen. Fast ein Viertel der Anträge (22 Prozent) bezog sich zuletzt auf nicht-reglementierte gewerblich-technische, kaufmännische oder handwerkliche Ausbildungsberufe. Die drei am stärksten nachgefragten Referenzberufe sind reglementiert: Es geht um Ärztin/Arzt, Gesundheits- und Krankenpfleger/in sowie Physiotherapeut/in.

Ferner unterstrich Esser: „Das Interesse an Beratung steigt, und die Beratungsinfrastruktur ist gut“. Die zunehmende Nachfrage zeige sich beim Portal „Anerkennung in Deutschland“, das im BIBB angesiedelt ist, und bei der persönlichen Beratung vor, in und nach dem Verfahren. „So wird das Gesetz immer bekannter.“ Die Beratungsangebote des Bundes, zum Beispiel die Hotline des Bundesamts für Migration und Flüchtlinge, die Beratungsstellen des Förderprogramms "Integration durch Qualifizierung“ (IQ) sowie die der Industrie- und Handelskammern bzw. Handwerkskammern seien leistungsfähig, stark frequentiert und etabliert. Die gute Beratung habe auch dazu geführt, dass bei nicht-reglementierten Berufen der Anteil der negativ beschiedenen Verfahren von 24,9 Prozent im Jahr 2012 auf 4,4 Prozent im Jahr 2013 gefallen sei.

„Es bleibt wichtig, die Entwicklung bei der Anerkennung im Ausland erworbener Qualifikationen zu verfolgen.“
(Prof. Dr. Esser)      

Qualifikationsanalyse in der Praxis verankern

© A. Hultsch

Das Monitoring des BIBB belege darüber hinaus, so Esser weiter, dass die im Anerkennungsgesetz verankerte Möglichkeit genutzt werde, unterschiedliche Arten von Lernergebnissen zu berücksichtigen. Hinsichtlich des Informellen Lernens sei klar geworden: Bei nicht-reglementierten Berufen spielt die Berufserfahrung eine große Rolle. Sie sei, jüngsten Zahlen zufolge, bei vier von zehn (42,1 Prozent) der abgeschlossenen Verfahren zum Ausgleich wesentlicher Unterschiede hinzugezogen worden. In fast allen Fällen führe die Berücksichtigung von Berufserfahrung dazu, die volle Gleichwertigkeit anzuerkennen.

Im reglementierten Bereich dagegen wird die Berufserfahrung deutlich seltener berücksichtigt. Sie wurde ungefähr in jedem zehnten (9,7 Prozent) der beschiedenen Fälle bei der Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung herangezogen. In Bezug auf die erstellten Bescheide offenbare sich ein ähnliches Bild. Dort wurde bei drei Viertel der Verfahren, in denen die Berufserfahrung betrachtet wurde, eine volle Gleichwertigkeit ohne Ausgleichsmaßnahme festgestellt.

Wie werden unterschiedliche Lernergebnisse gewürdigt? „Eine Kompetenzfeststellung, die sogenannte Qualifikationsanalyse, ist möglich, wenn jemand Unterlagen unverschuldet nicht vorlegen kann – was bei Flüchtlingen oft der Fall ist“, sagte der BIBB-Präsident. Bisher werde diese Möglichkeit indessen sehr selten genutzt: 2013 etwa wurden 60 Qualifikationsanalysen durchgeführt; 27 ergaben die volle und 24 eine teilweise Gleichwertigkeit, neun Mal gab es keine Anerkennung.

Im zweiten Teil seines Vortrags ging Esser auf Herausforderungen ein, vor denen die Umsetzung des Anerkennungsgesetzes trotz des bisherigen Erfolgs stehe. Erstens sei die Anerkennung bei fehlenden Unterlagen zu verbessern. Das Projekt „Prototyping Transfer", koordiniert vom BIBB, setze genau da an und ziele darauf ab, die Qualifikationsanalyse in der Praxis zu verankern. Zweitens sei die Anerkennung informell und non-formal erworbener Kompetenzen zu erweitern. „Hier müssen wir die Validierung stärken. Das trägt dem Anspruch Rechnung, lebenslang zu lernen“, erläuterte Esser. Die Erfahrungen mit der Validierung von Lernergebnissen nach dem Berufsqualifikationsfeststellungsgesetz könnten in einem neuen rechtlichen Rahmen auch für Bildungsinländer ohne formalen Abschluss nutzbar sein.

Der BIBB-Präsident regte ferner an, Weiterbildungsangebote auszubauen und Eintrittsbarrieren zu beseitigen. Das Anerkennungsgesetz biete Entwicklungschancen, da etwa Weiterbildungen zum Ausgleich wesentlicher Unterschiede nach der Feststellung einer „teilweisen Gleichwertigkeit“ im Antragsverfahren berücksichtigt würden. Und bedeutsam sei es, dass der Qualifizierungsbedarf aus den Bescheiden ableitbar ist. „Es muss genug berufliche und akademische Weiterbildungsangebote geben, und diese müssen auf die Belange derer, die Anerkennung anstreben, individuell zugeschnitten sein“, fügte Esser hinzu. Eintrittsbarrieren wie ungünstige Kurszeiten oder räumliche Entfernungen dürften darüber hinaus den Weiterbildungswünschen nicht entgegenstehen. „Und die Angebote müssen kundenorientiert sein!“

Finanzierung der Anerkennungsverfahren

© A. Hultsch

Als vierte Herausforderung machte Esser finanzielle Hürden auf dem Weg zur Anerkennung aus. „Diese Hürden müssen wir entfernen“, forderte er. Die Übernahme der Finanzierung des Anerkennungsverfahrens durch die Jobcenter hänge vom zu erwartenden Erfolg der Anerkennung und der anschließenden Arbeitsmarktintegration ab. „Die Kosten bleiben leider ein Grund, keinen Antrag zu stellen.“ Seit 2015 unterstütze daher der Sonderfonds im Projekt „Prototyping Transfer“ Antragsteller bei der Durchführung von Qualifikationsanalysen. „Dennoch bleiben die beteiligten Akteure gefordert, weitere Finanzierungswege zu finden.“

Davon abgesehen seien Unternehmen dabei zu unterstützen, die Chancen der Anerkennung am Schopf zu packen. Die vom Monitoring im BIBB 2014 durchgeführte Betriebsbefragung verdeutliche: „Die Betriebe haben die Anerkennungssuchenden zwar im Blick, aber nicht besonders im Fokus“. Fast 80 Prozent der Betriebe hätten keine Bedenken, Personen mit ausländischer Berufsqualifikation einzustellen. 20 Prozent sorgten sich, dass die Qualifikation trotz Anerkennung nicht mit der deutschen vergleichbar sei oder die Sprachkenntnisse nicht reichten.

Außerdem sei festzustellen: Zwei Drittel der Betriebe sind bereit, Mitarbeitende bei einem Anerkennungsverfahren zu unterstützen; viele Betriebe, die Personen mit ausländischer Berufsqualifikation eingestellt haben, weisen auf deren Kompetenzen hin, so auf interkulturelle Fähigkeiten und Länderkenntnisse; und nicht nur Zugewanderte müssten „employment-ready“ sein, um den Anforderungen der Wirtschaft zu entsprechen. Auch Unternehmen sollten sich weiter öffnen und bei Bedarf etwas Besonderes (zum Beispiel Sprachkurse) bieten, um Fachkräfte zu gewinnen.

Wie BIBB-Präsident Esser abschließend bemerkte, legten die positiven Ergebnisse des Monitoring und die anstehenden Herausforderungen nahe: „Es bleibt wichtig, die Entwicklung bei der Anerkennung im Ausland erworbener Qualifikationen zu verfolgen – und zwar systematisch, auf empirischer Basis und dauerhaft.“


Die Dokumentation der Fachtagung finden Sie in Kürze im Portal „Anerkennung in Deutschland / BMBF-Tagung 2015