BP:
 

Malaysia: GOVET provides information on dual VET

The aim in Malaysia is for vocational education and training to be a “game changer” by taking on a crucial role to drive forward the development of the national economy. The country’s government is currently working on a comprehensive reform of the vocational education and training system.

Malaysia: GOVET provides information on dual VET
Peter Rechmann of GOVET (left) with the Malaysian Minister of Human Resources, M. Kula Segaran (right)

Malaysia is striving to bring about substantial changes in its VET system. The country’s objectives are to achieve a significant increase in the number of people completing training, to integrate trade and industry more closely, and to react to the challenges of Industry 4.0.

The Malaysian Ministry of Human Resources hosted a Vocational Education and Training Conference at the seat of government in Putrajaya on 8 and 9 July. The event was attended by around 400 participants from the field of public administration and the private sector economy who convened to discuss the necessary reform steps. The ministry was also keen to hear the views of VET experts from other countries, and representatives from Japan, South Korea and Germany all contributed. GOVET’s Deputy Head Peter Rechmann, who had been invited to take part by the Malaysian Government, spoke on the first day of the conference to explain the tasks and cooperation activities undertaken by the different stakeholders in dual vocational education and training in Germany. He also elaborated on the work of the committees via which the dual system is governed and implemented. Various representatives of Malaysian trade and industry organisations approached GOVET following this presentation in order to obtain further information and ideas for the current reform process. Webinars and return visits from the Malaysian side are also in the pipeline.

Notice: This video is hosted on the Youtube channel of the BIBB. If you play this video here, data will be transferred to Youtube or Google. Please find further information in our data privacy statement.

Keynote

In his keynote address, Prime Minister Mahathir emphasised that vocational education and training would play a major part in Malaysia’s future development. He encouraged the participants at the conference to redouble their commitment to VET.

Participants of the conference with Prime Minister Mahathir bin Mohamad
Participants of the conference with Prime Minister Mahathir bin Mohamad

The main focus of the second day of the conference was an appearance by the Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir bin Mohamad, who encouraged the participants to redouble their commitment to vocational education and training and also took part in a questions and answers session. He sent out a strong signal for the future by stating that vocational education and training would play a major part in Malaysia’s development. The press, TV and social media were all on hand and were quick to produce detailed reports on the event. Germany has been heavily involved in VET cooperation with Malaysia in the past as part of its international development work. Within the region, Malaysia itself has now emerged as a net donor of aid. German concepts such as training regulations and dual learning have been integrated into Malaysian vocational education and training. In some cases, these aspects are implemented by German training providers operating at a local level. These providers continue to be held in high esteem, and numerous decision makers in the area of government administration have been on fact-finding missions to Germany within the scope of various programmes.

BP:
 

Konferenz in Malaysia: GOVET informiert zur dualen Berufsausbildung

In Malaysia soll Berufsbildung als „Game Changer“ eine entscheidende Rolle einnehmen, um die Entwicklung der Volkswirtschaft voranzutreiben. Die Regierung des Landes arbeitet zurzeit an einer umfassenden Reform des Berufsbildungssystems.

Konferenz in Malaysia: GOVET informiert zur dualen Berufsausbildung
Peter Rechmann, GOVET, mit dem malaysischen Minister für Human Resources, M. Kula Segaran.

Malaysia strebt maßgebliche Veränderungen für sein Berufsbildungssystem an. Das Land möchte die Zahl der Absolventen deutlich  erhöhen, die Einbindung der Wirtschaft verstärken und auf die Herausforderungen von Industrie 4.0 reagieren. 

Vom 8.-9. Juli organisierte das malaysische Ministry of Human Resources am Regierungssitz Putrajaya eine Berufsbildungskonferenz, auf der rund 400 Teilnehmer aus Verwaltung und Wirtschaft die notwendigen Reformschritte besprachen. Dabei setzte das Ministerium auch auf Anregungen durch Berufsbildungsexperten aus anderen Ländern. Ausländische Beiträge kamen aus Japan, Südkorea und Deutschland: auf Einladung der Regierung Malaysias erläuterte Peter Rechmann, stellvertretender Leiter von GOVET, am ersten Konferenztag Aufgaben und Zusammenspiel der unterschiedlichen Akteure der dualen Berufsausbildung in Deutschland und mithilfe welcher Gremien das duale System gesteuert und implementiert wird. Im Anschluss an diesen Beitrag kamen verschiedene Vertreter malaysischer Wirtschaftsorganisationen auf GOVET zu, um weitere Informationen und Anregungen für den aktuellen Reformprozess zu erhalten. Vorgesehen sind außerdem Webinare und Gegenbesuche der malaysischen Seite.

Hinweis: Dieses Video ist über den Youtube-Kanal des BIBB eingebunden. Wenn Sie dieses Video hier abspielen, erfolgt eine Datenübertragung an Youtube bzw. Google. Weitere Hinweise hierzu entnehmen Sie bitte unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Keynote

Premierministers Mahathir bin Mohamad betonte in seiner Keynote, dass berufliche Bildung eine entscheidende Rolle spiele, wenn es um die Entwicklung Malaysias geht. Er bestärkte die Teilnehmer der Konferenz in ihrem Engagement für Berufsbildung.

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaZoombild 100100
Konferenzteilnehmer mit Premierminister Mahathir bin Mohamad (Mitte)

Tag zwei der Konferenz stand ganz im Zeichen des malaysischen Premierministers Mahathir bin Mohamad, der die Teilnehmer in ihrem Engagement für die Berufsausbildung bestärkte und sich ihren Fragen und Antworten stellte. Er wies der Berufsbildung eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Entwicklung Malaysias zu und setzte damit ein deutliches Zeichen für die Zukunft. Presse, Fernsehen und die sozialen Medien berichteten zeitnah und ausführlich. Deutschland hat in der Vergangenheit im Rahmen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit umfassend in der Berufsbildung mit Malaysia zusammengearbeitet, welches in der Region nun selber zum Geberland aufgestiegen ist. Deutsche Konzepte, wie Ausbildungsordnungen oder duales Lernen, haben Eingang in die malaysische Berufsbildung gefunden und werden zum Teil auch von deutschen Bildungsanbietern vor Ort umgesetzt. Sie genießen nach wie vor ein hohes Ansehen, zahlreiche Entscheidungsträger in der Administration haben sich in Deutschland im Rahmen unterschiedlicher Programme hierzu kundig gemacht.