BP:
 

Conference on the implementation of the strategy for international cooperation in Vocational Education and Training

Three years ago the strategy of “one-stop VET cooperation” was adopted by the Federal Government. 50 representatives of organisations involved in international VET cooperation have now met in Berlin to take stock. The aim was to discuss together the extent of the progress made with the implementation, what still needs to be done and how international collaboration in vocational education and training should be developed further.

Conference on the implementation of the strategy for international cooperation in Vocational Education and Training

In addition to “Round Table” members, experts from abroad had travelled to the conference, organized by GOVET, in order to provide an insight into practice at a local level. Susanne Burger of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), Dr. Tilo Klinner of the Foreign Office (AA) and Hans-Peter Baur of the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) introduced the event and welcomed all participants. The event was chaired by Kate Maleike from Cologne.

Susanne Burger
Susanne Burger ©Sepehr Shahin/GOVET
Dr. Tilo Klinner
Dr. Tilo Klinner ©Sepehr Shahin/GOVET
Hans-Peter Baur
Hans-Peter Baur ©Sepehr Shahin/GOVET
inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 52329

Dr. Nolitha Vukuza, who is the Higher Education and Training Representative for UNESCO, OECD, ILO, Germany and Switzerland at the South African embassy in Paris, reported on the cooperation with Germany from the perspective of a long-standing partner in her keynote address. She advo-cated for cooperation on an equal footing with greater clarity of responsibilities on the German side and called for discussion of conditions in the partner countries in greater depth - i.e. what is actually wanted and what are the opportunities, the institutional requirements and how all this fits in with the German approach. According to Dr. Vukuza, so much could be achieved in this way: “Alone I walk faster – but together, we walk far!”

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 52327

Practitioners in international VET cooperation had the opportunity to speak on the topic of the co-operation of German organisations abroad in the podium discussion which followed. Ladislav Chudy (Manz Slovakia), Dennis Horch (GIZ [German Agency for International Cooperation]), Britta Buschfeld (Chamber of Foreign Trade, Shanghai), Martina Klumpp (German Embassy in Mexico) and Ulrich Nordhaus (DGB [Federation of German trade unions]) described their experiences with the introduction of German training standards and vocational training concepts abroad, with the coordination of German stakeholders among themselves and also described how international VET cooperation might be further developed. Specialist input from the academic perspective was pro-vided by Prof. Dr. Matthias Pilz (Cologne University) who presented the empirical results of a cur-rent research project looking into the training requirements of German companies in newly indus-trialised countries.

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 52325

In the afternoon, conference participants addressed the achievements and limitations of German collaboration in vocational education and training abroad based on the themes of “Consolidation of the vocational education and training system in partner countries” and “Supporting the German economy abroad by means of VET cooperation” Here it was found that the two themes are closely related to one another and linked to similar challenges, for example in relation to the flow of in-formation from the partner countries and the issue of the extent to which typical German voca-tional education and training approaches should be adapted to conditions abroad without diluting these too much in the process.

In a concluding round of discussion, which Volker Rieke of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research introduced with a thought-provoking presentation, the results of the conference were summarised and the next steps were identified. The coordination processes which were initiated in 2013 by the setting up of GOVET and the Round Table for international VET cooperation have facilitated the work of the German stakeholders. However, this path still needs to be pursued more systematically. Many participants, for example, expressed the desire for more information from abroad, for more transparency concerning vocational education and training activities available there, and for more teamwork amongst themselves. The area of conflict between market-based vocational education and training export and political vocational education and training cooperation was addressed on multiple occasions - two areas however, where potential cross-fertilization exists. International VET cooperation should, if nothing else, address the new chal-lenges such as the themes of “Refugees and migration” or the “Sustainable development goals of agenda 2030”.

X

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte von BIBB.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Govet

Arbeitstagung zur Umsetzung der Strategie der Bundesregierung zur Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit

Arbeitstagung
© Sepehr Shahin

Vor drei Jahren wurde die Strategie der Bundesregierung „Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit aus einer Hand“ beschlossen. 50 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von Organisationen der internationalen Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit trafen sich nun in Berlin, um Bilanz zu ziehen. Gemeinsam wollte man diskutieren, wie weit man mit der Umsetzung gekommen ist, was noch zu tun ist und wie die internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Berufsbildung weiter entwickelt werden sollte.

Zu der Tagung, die von GOVET organisiert wurde, waren neben den Mitgliedern des „Runden Tisches“ auch Expertinnen und Experten aus dem Ausland angereist, um einen Blick in die Praxis vor Ort zu vermitteln. Susanne Burger, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), Dr. Tilo Klinner, Auswärtiges Amt (AA) und Hans-Peter Baur, Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) führten in die Veranstaltung ein und richteten Grußworte an die Teilnehmenden. Kate Maleike, Köln, moderierte.

Grußworte der Ressorts

Dr. Nolitha Vukuza
Dr. Nolitha Vukuza ©Sepehr Shahin/GOVET

Dr. Nolitha Vukuza, Higher Education and Training Representative für die UNESCO, OECD, ILO, Deutschland und die Schweiz an der südafrikanischen Botschaft in Paris, berichtete in ihrer Keynote über die Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschland aus Sicht eines langjährigen Partners. Sie plädierte für eine Kooperation auf Augenhöhe mit mehr Klarheit über Zuständigkeiten auf deutscher Seite und bat darum, sich noch stärker mit den Gegebenheiten in den Partnerländern auseinander zu setzen - den tatsächlichen Wünschen und Möglichkeiten, den institutionellen Voraussetzungen und wie all dies zur deutschen Herangehensweise passt. Dann, so Dr. Vukuza, könne man viel erreichen: “Alone I walk faster – but together, we walk far!“

Teilnehmer der Podiumsdiskussion
Britta Buschfeld, AHK Shanghai ©Sepehr Shahin/GOVET

In der anschließenden Podiumsdiskussion zur Kooperation deutscher Organisationen im Ausland kamen Praktiker der internationalen Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit zu Wort: Ladislav Chudy (Firma Manz Slowakei), Dennis Horch (GIZ), Britta Buschfeld (AHK Schanghai), Martina Klumpp (deutsche Botschaft Mexiko) und Ulrich Nordhaus (DGB) schilderten ihre Erfahrungen bei der Einführung deutscher Ausbildungsstandards und Konzepte der Berufsbildung im Ausland, der Koordination deutscher Akteure untereinander und wie man die internationale Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit weiterentwickeln könne. Einen fachlichen Input aus Sicht der Wissenschaft steuerte Prof. Dr. Matthias Pilz (Universität zu Köln) bei, der empirische Ergebnisse eines aktuellen Forschungsvorhabens zum Ausbildungsbedarf deutscher Unternehmen in Schwellenländern präsentierte.

Workshop Politik
Teilnehmer des Workshops Politik ©Sepehr Shahin/GOVET

Anhand der Themen „das Berufsbildungssystem in Partnerländern stärken“ und „die deutsche Wirtschaft im Ausland durch Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit unterstützen“ befassten sich die Tagungsteilnehmenden am Nachmittag in zwei Workshops mit den Leistungen und Grenzen deutscher Zusammenarbeit in der Berufsbildung im Ausland. Dabei wurde festgestellt, dass beide Themen eng miteinander zusammenhängen und mit ähnlichen Herausforderungen verbunden sind, etwa in Bezug auf den Informationsfluss aus den Partnerländern und die Frage, inwieweit typisch deutsche Berufsbildungsansätze an die Gegebenheiten im Ausland anzupassen sind, ohne sie dabei zu sehr zu verwässern.

In einer abschließenden Diskussionsrunde, die Volker Rieke, BMBF, mit einem Impulsreferat einleitete, wurden die Ergebnisse der Tagung zusammengefasst und nächste Schritte identifiziert. Die mit der Einrichtung von GOVET und des Runden Tisches zur internationalen Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit im Jahr 2013 initiierten Abstimmungsprozesse haben die Arbeit der deutschen Akteure erleichtert. Es besteht jedoch Bedarf, diesen Weg noch konsequenter weiterzugehen. So äußerten viele Teilnehmer den Wunsch nach mehr Informationen aus dem Ausland, nach noch mehr Transparenz über die dort vorhandenen Berufsbildungsaktivitäten und nach mehr Teamwork untereinander. Mehrfach wurde das Spannungsfeld zwischen marktwirtschaftlichem Berufsbildungsexport und politischer Berufsbildungskooperation angesprochen, die sich jedoch auch gegenseitig befruchten können. Nicht zuletzt sollten neue Herausforderungen wie die Themen „Flucht und Migration“ oder die „Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Agenda 2030“ (Sustainable Development Goals) von der internationalen Berufsbildungszusammenarbeit aufgegriffen werden.