BP:
 

Myanmar proudly hosted the 4th Regional TVET Conference

The eyes of stakeholders from the field of technical and vocational education and training turned to the fourth Regional TVET Conference 2017 that was hosted this time by Myanmar. It took place from 13 to 14 June 2017 in Nay Pyi Taw, followed by a field trip in Yangon on 15 June 2017.

Myanmar proudly hosted the 4th Regional TVET Conference
H. E. Dr. Myo Thein Gyi, Minister for Education in Myanmar and Thomas Silberhorn, Parliamentary State Secretary to the Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

The conference under the title “Improving TVET – Priorities for Sustainable Growth in ASEAN” attracted over 270 participants from more than 20 countries like policy makers, practitioners and academia, key actors from the public and private sector as well as diplomatic agencies. In his speech, the Parliamentary State Secretary to the Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Mr. Thomas Silberhorn, set the frame by defining sustainable growth as making sure through the careful and responsible use of a country’s resources the entire society benefits from growth.” Insightful discussions focusing on the future of improved TVET and its contribution to sustainable economic growth in the ASEAN region involved all participants.

The Regional TVET Conference 2017 was jointly organized by the Myanmar Ministry of Education, the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and the Asian Development Bank (ADB). The speakers, high-ranking representatives of the Myanmar Ministry of Education, the BMZ and the ADB undoubtedly added splendour to this outreaching event. It was highlighted by the Myanmar Minister for the Office of the State Counsellor H.E. U Kyaw Tint Swe that “since the ASEAN Economic Community establishment at the end of 2015, the strengthening of technical and vocational education and training (TVET) as well as the facilitation of skilled labour mobility across ASEAN’s common labour market, have become a high priority for the ASEAN community.”

Ms. Ayako Inagaki, Director of the Human and Social Development Division from the Southeast Asia Department of the ADB emphasized that “Myanmar government has been extremely active in the [TVET] sector (…) accomplishing the comprehensive education sector review as a land-mark, which led to the formulation of the National Education Strategic Plan for 2016-2021, (…) one of the first rigorous assessments of the sector in two decades.” The conference participants agreed that the achievements of the Regional TVET Conference 2017 in Myanmar should throw light and serve as a reference point for the future development of TVET in the ASEAN region. The main challenges awaiting TVET in ASEAN could be the standardisation process and creating the new image of TVET, as well as learning how to learn throughout the whole life, as the longevity has increased and people change employment on a more frequent basis, as suggested Dr. Brajesh Panth, Technical Advisor (Education) from the Asian Development Bank.

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 62907
from left to right: Dr. Gatot Hari Priowirjanto, Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization Secretariat; Dr. Brajesh Panth, Asian Development Bank; Gisela Hammerschmidt, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development; Ayako Inagaki, Asian Development Bank; H. E. Dr. Myo Thein Gyi, Union Minister of Education, Myanmar; Thomas Silberhorn, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development; Dr. Shyamal Majumdar, UNESCO-UNEVOC; Dr. Christine Heimburger, KfW Entwicklungsbank; Dr. Petra Mutlu, GIZ; Win Maw Tun, Deputy Minister of Education, Myanmar.

This Regional TVET Conference in Myanmar crowned a series of Regional TVET Conferences organized by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development and its regional Partners in Vietnam (2012), Indonesia (2014) and Laos (2015). This well illustrates the words of the Parliamentary State Secretary to the Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development who stated that the main focus of the German development cooperation with the ASEAN countries is the vocational education and training. This year’s Conference was guided by principles of interactivity, outcome orientation and sustainability. The most vividly discussed topics were Labour markets and skills in the digital era, Sustainable employer engagement in TVET and TVET Personnel in the 21 century. While importance of TVET personnel and the involvement of the business sector in the TVET became a highlight rooted from the previous Regional TVET Conferences, the session Labour markets and skills in the digital era constituted a vital component of the Conference proceedings and is considered a priority of all key players as it is a leapfrogging development.

The Regional TEVT Conference 2017 in Myanmar fulfilled several important objectives. Besides concluding a very successful series of Regional TVET Conferences in the ASEAN region, it also brought the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Myanmar Ministry of Education and the Asian Development Bank closer to each other by creating value added cooperation, but it also inspired long-reaching changes in the ASEAN region and beyond. Dr. Shyamal Majumdar highlighted in his closing panel remark, “we’d like to see this dialogue to be continued. I heard this is the fourth and the last one. Don’t make it the last one, keep the momentum. Then, you are making a half-journey. When you have taken the road, let’s take it and finish it.” Let’s hope that this spirit among the policy-makers, university environment, public and private sector engaged in the TVET sector will be maintained as a priority for the sustainable growth in the ASEAN region.

The Regional TVET Conference certainly placed Myanmar in the centre of a multinational discussion concerning the future of skilled workforce in the ASEAN region. As the Myanmar Minister for Education Dr. Myo Thein Gyi highlighted, “with the encouragement of H.E. State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, more and more youths and parents [in Myanmar] are interested in TVET that constitutes the first-class education. (…) Education plays the key role in building peace, reducing poverty, adjusting tolerance and building a learning generation.”

Author: Joanna Dolinska, Consultant at the “Promotion of TVET Project” at the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

X

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte von BIBB.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Govet

Die 4. Regionale Berufsbildungskonferenz fand erfolgreich in Myanmar statt

H. E. Dr. Myo Thein Gyi, Bildungsminister Myanmar und Thomas Silberhorn, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär beim Bundesminister für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung.© Jeanette Burmester / GIZ

Im Blickpunkt der Berufsbildungswelt: die Regionale Berufsbildungskonferenz 2017 in Myanmar, welche vom 13.-14. Juni 2017 in Nay Pyi Taw in Verbindung mit einem Field Trip in Yangon, am 15. Juni stattfand.

Der Titel der diesjährigen Konferenz: “Improving TVET – Priorities for Sustainable Growth in ASEAN” zog über 270 TeilnehmerInnen aus über 20 Ländern an. Entscheidungsträger, Praktiker und Wissenschaft, Schlüsselakteure aus dem öffentlichen Sektor und der Wirtschaft sowie internationale und diplomatische Akteure kamen zusammen. Herr Thomas Silberhorn, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär des Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) definierte nachhaltige Entwicklung folgendermaßen: „die Ressourcen eines Landes sind vorsichtig und verantwortungsvoll zu nutzen, damit die gesamte Gesellschaft von Wachstum profitiert“. Die Teilnehmenden tauschten sich intensiv zur Zukunft von Berufsbildung und ihrer wirtschaftlichen Dimension für nachhaltige Entwicklung in der ASEAN Region aus.

Die Regionale Berufsbildungskonferenz 2017 ist ein gemeinsamer Erfolg des Bildungsministeriums von Myanmar, des BMZ und der Asian Development Bank (ADB). Die Hochrangigkeit der Redner des Bildungsministeriums von Myanmar, des BMZ, sowie der ADB –unterstreichen die große politische Bedeutung der Veranstaltung. Der Union Minister of State Counsellor’s Office Ministry Myanmars H.E. U Kyaw Tint Swe machte deutlich, dass „die Stärkung von Berufsbildung und die Erleichterung der Arbeitskräftemobilität in der ASEAN Region seit der Etablierung der ASEAN Economic Community Ende 2015 eine hohe Priorität erlangt haben.“

Frau Ayako Inagaki, Direktorin der Human und Social Development Division der Südostasienabteilung in der ADB unterstrich: „die Regierung Myanmars war äußerst aktiv im Berufsbildungssektor (…) und hat den comprehensive education sector review als Meilenstein erzielt, welcher zur Formulierung des Nationalen Strategischen Bildungsplans 2016-2021, (…) eine der ersten gründlichen Analysen des Sektors in zwei Jahrzehnten, führte. Die Konferenzteilnehmer stimmten zu, dass die Ergebnisse der Berufsbildungskonferenz 2017 in Myanmar als Referenzpunkt für die zukünftige Entwicklung von Berufsbildung in der ASEAN Region ausstrahlen sollte. Die wichtigsten Herausforderungen für Berufsbildung in der ASEAN Region könnten der Standardisierungsprozess, die Etablierung eines neuen Images von Berufsbildung sowie das Lebenslange Lernen im Kontext höherer Lebenserwartung und häufiger Wechsel von Beschäftigungsverhältnissen sein – so Dr. Brajesh Panth, Technischer Berater für Bildung der ADB.

v.l.n.r.: Dr. Gatot Hari Priowirjanto, Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization Secretariat; Dr. Brajesh Panth, Asian Development Bank; Gisela Hammerschmidt, BMZ; Ayako Inagaki, Asian Development Bank; H. E. Dr. Myo Thein Gyi, Bildungsminister, Myanmar; Thomas Silberhorn, BMZ; Dr. Shyamal Majumdar, UNESCO-UNEVOC; Dr. Christine Heimburger, KfW Entwicklungsbank; Dr. Petra Mutlu, GIZ; Win Maw Tun, stellv. Bildungsminister, Myanmar.© GIZ / Jeanette Burmester

Die Regionale Berufsbildungskonferenz in Myanmar vollendet die Serie von Regionalen Berufsbildungskonferenzen, die das BMZ mit seinen regionalen Partnern in Vietnam (2012), Indonesien (2014) und Laos (2015) organisiert hat. Dies illustrierten auch die Worte des Parlamentarischen Staatssekretärs Thomas Silberhorn, der darauf verwies, dass Berufsbildung den Schwerpunkt in der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit der ASEAN Region darstelle.

Die diesjährige Konferenz war geprägt durch Interaktion, Ergebnisorientierung und Nachhaltigkeit. Die am lebhaftesten diskutierten Themen waren Arbeitsmarkt und Qualifikationen im digitalen Zeitalter, nachhaltige Arbeitgebereinbindung in die Berufsbildung und Berufsbildungspersonal im 21. Jahrhundert. Während die Bedeutung des Berufsbildungspersonals und die Einbeziehung der Wirtschaft bereits Themen der vorherigen regionalen Berufsbildungskonferenzen waren, stellte die Session zum Thema Arbeitsmarkt und Qualifikationen im digitalen Zeitalter eine neue wichtige Komponente für den Verlauf der Konferenz dar und wurde von allen Schlüsselakteuren als prioritär eingestuft, da das Thema auf der Überholspur ist.

Durch die Regionale Berufsbildungskonferenz 2017 in Myanmar wurden mehrere wichtige Ziele erreicht. Zum einen schloss sie eine erfolgreiche Serie von Regionalen Berufsbildungskonferenzen ab, zum anderen erzeugte die Kooperation zwischen BMZ, dem Bildungsministerium Myanmars und der Asian Development Bank einen Mehrwert. Zudem hat die Konferenz durch erfolgreiche Kooperation der Teilnehmer zu weitreichenden langfristigen Veränderungen inspiriert, sowohl in der ASEAN Region als auch darüber hinaus. Dr. Shyamal Majumdar, Leiter von UNESCO-UNEVOC, betonte in seinen Abschlussworten in der Podiumsdiskussion: „Wir würden diesen Dialog gerne fortsetzen. Ich hörte, es sei die vierte und letzte [Konferenz]. Lassen Sie es nicht die letzte sein, halten Sie den Kurs. Ansonsten haben Sie eine halbe Reise gemacht. Wenn man sich für einen Weg entschieden hat, sollte man ihn auch zu Ende gehen.“ Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass dieser Zusammenhalt unter den berufsbildungspolitischen Entscheidungsträgern, im akademischen Bereich und im öffentlichen und privaten Sektor anhält, um nachhaltiges Wachstum in der ASEAN Region voranzutreiben.

Die Regionale Berufsbildungskonferenz brachte Myanmar ins Zentrum einer multinationalen Diskussion über die Zukunft von qualifizierten Arbeitskräften in der ASEAN Region. Dr. Myo Thein Gyi, Myanmars Bildungsminister, betonte: „Durch das Engagement von Staatsberaterin Daw Aung San Suu Kyi wurde das Image der Berufsbildung [in Myanmar] verbessert – insbesondere an Beruflicher Bildung interessierte Jugendliche und Eltern sollen Berufsausbildung als gleichwertigen Bildungsweg anerkennen. (…) Bildung spielt eine Schlüsselrolle in der Friedensbildung, Armutsverringerung, Toleranzstärkung und fördert die lernende Generation.“

Autor: Joanna Dolinska, , Beraterin im Projekt Berufliche Bildung in Myanmar der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH