BP:
 

BIBB Expertise in the US Congress

On 16 July 2019, Dr. Silvia Annen, Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB), was one of three international experts to take part in a hearing of the U.S. House of Representatives' Higher Education and Workforce Investment Subcommittee in Washington DC.

BIBB Expertise in the US Congress
f.l.t.r.: Simon Marti, Swiss Core; Dr. Silvia Annen, BIBB; Susan A. Davis, Committee on Education and Labor (U.S. House of Representatives); Tim Bradley, Embassy of Australia in Washington DC

After a short presentation of the German dual system, Dr. Silvia Annen answered the questions of the Congress delegates. The focus was on the cooperation between government/state and the private sector in Germany as well as the consensus principle associated with the development of training occupations in Germany within the framework of the social partnership between employers and employees. The members of Congress were particularly interested in issues related to the development of training occupations, financing as well as quality assurance in the German training system. In addition, the career prospects of trainees and advanced trainees in Germany were an important topic. In this context, questions were asked in particular about the permeability of the education system and the value of various qualifications on the labor market.

The Committee on Education and Labor had requested the the German Embassy in Washington DC to second an expert in the German system of Vocational Education and Training to participate in the hearing. GOVET has provided technical advice within the BMBF bilateral cooperation with the United States since 2012, initiated the participation of Dr. Silvia Annen within this framework.

Notice: This video is hosted on the Youtube channel of the BIBB. If you play this video here, data will be transferred to Youtube or Google. Please find further information in our data privacy statement.

Scaling Up Apprenticeships: Building on the Success of International Apprenticeship Models

The background to the hearing was the debate about strengthening the U.S. Registered Apprenticeship Program. In order to scale up the model, Congress needs a bipartisan basis. Besides Dr. Silvia Annen, vocational training experts from Switzerland and Australia also took part in the hearing "Scaling Up Apprenticeships: Building on the Success of International Apprenticeship Models".

BP:
 

BIBB-Expertise im US-Kongress

In Washington DC nahm Dr. Silvia Annen, Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung (BIBB), als eine von drei internationalen Experten an einer Anhörung des Ausschusses für Bildung und Arbeit des US-Repräsentantenhauses am 16. Juli 2019 zum Thema Berufsbildung (Apprenticeship) teil.

BIBB-Expertise im US-Kongress
v.l.n.r.: Simon Marti, Swiss Core; Dr. Silvia Annen, BIBB; Susan A. Davis, Ausschuss für Bildung und Arbeit im US-Repräsentantenhaus; Tim Bradley, Australische Botschaft in Washington DC

Nach einer kurzen Darstellung des deutschen dualen Systems beantwortete Dr. Silvia Annen Fragen der Kongressabgeordneten. Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte waren dabei die Ausgestaltung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Regierung/Staat und Privatwirtschaft in Deutschland sowie das in Deutschland mit der Erarbeitung von Ausbildungsberufen verbundene Konsensprinzip im Rahmen der Sozialpartnerschaft von Arbeitgebern und Arbeitnehmern. Hier waren die Abgeordneten insbesondere an Fragen der konkreten Entwicklung von Ausbildungsberufen sowie der Finanzierung und Qualitätssicherung des deutschen Ausbildungssystems interessiert. Zudem waren die Karriereperspektiven von Aus- und Fortgebildeten in Deutschland ein wichtiges Thema. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden insbesondere Fragen zur Durchlässigkeit des Bildungssystems sowie zur Wertigkeit verschiedener Abschlüsse auch auf dem Arbeitsmarkt gestellt.

Der Bildungsausschuss hatte in der deutschen Botschaft in Washington DC die Teilnahme einer oder eines Sachverständigen zum deutschen Berufsbildungssystem erbeten. GOVET begleitet fachlich die seit 2012 laufende bilaterale Kooperation des BMBF in der Berufsbildung mit den Vereinigten Staaten und ermöglichte in dessen Auftrag die Teilnahme von Dr. Silvia Annen.

Hinweis: Dieses Video ist über den Youtube-Kanal des BIBB eingebunden. Wenn Sie dieses Video hier abspielen, erfolgt eine Datenübertragung an Youtube bzw. Google. Weitere Hinweise hierzu entnehmen Sie bitte unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Scaling Up Apprenticeships: Building on the Success of International Apprenticeship Models

Hintergrund der Anhörung war die Debatte um die Stärkung des U.S. Registered Apprenticeship Programms. Um das Modell ausbauen zu können, benötigt der Kongress eine überparteiliche Einigung. Neben Dr. Silvia Annen wurden auch Berufsbildungsexperten aus der Schweiz und aus Australien im Rahmen der Anhörung „Scaling Up Apprenticeships: Building on the Success of International Apprenticeship Models“ befragt.