BP:
 

The long journey of vocational orientation in Russia

Choosing the right career entails a complex development process – from an individual, social, economic and governmental viewpoint. The third vocational education and training conference of the German Embassy in Moscow on 16 September investigated how Russia is structuring this process.

The long journey of vocational orientation in Russia
Kirsten Vollmer, BIBB expert for inclusion

At the third vocational education and training conference, Russian decision-makers shared ideas on vocational orientation in vocational education and training. The event received around 150 participants from Russian public administration, German and Russian companies, vocational schools and technical colleges. Speakers from Germany, Austria and Switzerland provided international experience in vocational orientation.

In her talk, Kirsten Vollmer from the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB) reported on measures and mechanisms of inclusion and vocational education and training. She explained that “access to professions is promoted in order to enable individual support with qualified training.”

Stefanie Langen, BDA
Stefanie Langen from the Confederation of German Employers' Associations on cooperation between schools and business

Stefanie Langen from the Confederation of German Employers' Associations (BDA) looked at how to engage employers, emphasising that the SCHULEWIRTSCHAFT network provides a powerful instrument for organising cooperation arrangements between schools and businesses at local, regional and federal level. Referring to the ‘Berufswahl-SIEGEL’ network, she stressed the importance of quality assurance in vocational orientation measures. Last but not least, Langen highlighted the contribution of employers towards financing and steering the Federal Employment Agency, where around 5,000 careers advisers in 156 employment agencies work on vocational orientation.

It became clear at the conference that vocational orientation is a journey requiring many advisory sessions, experience sharing and discussions with various stakeholders to answer questions such as: How can the state, schools, companies and social partners cooperate with regard to vocational orientation? What role do parents play in vocational orientation? And how is vocational orientation for adults structured?

A vital component of advisory service

Russia intends to increase its investment in vocational orientation in the future and has already made a start in some areas. Examples here include the regional model for vocational orientation work in Jaroslawl, St. Petersburg and Krasnoyarsk and the federal “Ticket to the future” programme. What the country lacks, however, is data, a concerted strategy and integration of vocational orientation into the vocational education and training system. For this reason, vocational orientation has become a vital component of advisory services for Russia in the context of bilateral cooperation.

The German Embassy in Moscow organised the conference together with AHK Moskau (the German-Russian Chamber of Commerce in Moscow) and FIRO RANHIGS (the Federal Institute for Education Development). GOVET initiated and organised the participation of speakers from Germany and led a workshop to discuss the role of careers advisers.

GOVET is providing specialist support for bilateral cooperation with Russia on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). To mark Girls’ Day in March 2019, GOVET organised a study trip on the topic of vocational orientation. In the Cologne area, Russian experts from regional methods centres, universities, administrative bodies and businesses learnt about the instruments used for vocational orientation in Germany.

BP:
 

Berufsorientierung in Russland: Ein langer Weg

Die richtige Berufswahl ist ein komplexer Entwicklungsprozess. Aus individueller, gesellschaftlicher, wirtschaftlicher und staatlicher Sicht. Wie gestaltet Russland diesen Prozess? Darum ging es am 16. September bei der dritten Berufsbildungskonferenz der Deutschen Botschaft in Moskau.

Berufsorientierung in Russland: Ein langer Weg
Kirsten Vollmer, BIBB Expertin für Inklusion

„Berufsorientierung in der Beruflichen Bildung – sicher in die Zukunft“, so lautet der Titel der dritten Berufsbildungskonferenz, bei der sich die russischen Schaltstellen zu diesem Thema austauschten. Die Veranstaltung zählte etwa 150 Teilnehmende aus der russischen öffentlichen Verwaltung, aus deutschen und russischen Unternehmen sowie Berufs- und Fachschulen. Internationale Erfahrungen zur beruflichen Orientierung lieferten Referentinnen und Referenten aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz.

Kirsten Vollmer, Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung (BIBB), berichtete in ihrem Vortrag von Maßnahmen und Mechanismen der Inklusion und Berufsbildung. Sie erläuterte, dass „der Zugang zu Berufswelten gefördert wird, um eine individuelle Förderung mit qualifizierter Ausbildung“ zu ermöglichen.

Stefanie Langen, BDA
Stefanie Langen, Bundesvereinigung Arbeitgeberverbände zur Kooperation Schule – Wirtschaft

Das Engagement der Arbeitgeber beleuchtete Stefanie Langen, Bundesvereinigung Arbeitgeberverbände (BDA): Mit dem Netzwerk SCHULEWIRTSCHAFT steht ein schlagkräftiges Instrument zur Verfügung, um auf lokaler, regionaler und auf Bundesebene Kooperationen von Schule und Wirtschaft zu organisieren. Es sei wichtig, Berufsorientierung qualitätsgesichert durchzuführen. Sie verwies dabei auf das „Berufswahl-SIEGEL“. Nicht zuletzt hob Stefanie Langen den Beitrag der Arbeitgeber zu Finanzierung und Steuerung der Bundesagentur für Arbeit hervor, bei der rund 5000 Berufsberaterinnen und -berater in 156 Arbeitsagenturen für die berufliche Orientierung im Einsatz sind.

Bei der Konferenz wurde deutlich: Berufsorientierung ist ein Weg, auf dem viele Beratungen, Austausche, Gespräche mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren stattfinden müssen: Wie kann die die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Staat, Schulen, Unternehmen und Sozialpartnern bei der Berufsorientierung funktionieren? Welche Rolle spielen die Eltern bei der Berufsorientierung? Und wie gestaltet sich Berufsorientierung für Erwachsene?

Russland möchte künftig verstärkt in Berufsorientierung investieren. Einzelne Ansätze gibt es bereits. So zum Beispiel das regionale Modell der Berufsorientierungsarbeit in Jaroslawl, St. Petersburg und Krasnojarsk sowie das föderale Programm „Die Fahrkarte in die Zukunft“. Was dem Land jedoch fehlt, ist eine systemische Strategie, eine Datenbasis und eine Verankerung im Berufsbildungssystem. Die Berufsorientierung ist aus diesem Grund zu einem wichtigen Baustein der Beratung Russlands im Rahmen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit geworden.

Die deutsche Botschaft Moskau organisierte die Konferenz gemeinsam mit der AHK Moskau und dem FIRO RANHIGS (Föderales Institut für Bildungsentwicklung). GOVET initiierte und organisierte die Teilnahme der deutschen Referentinnen und moderierte den Workshop „Berufsberater – wer ist das?“

GOVET begleitet im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fachlich die bilaterale Kooperation mit Russland. Zum Thema Berufsorientierung organisierte GOVET anlässlich des Girls‘ Day im März 2019 eine Studienreise. Im Raum Köln informierten sich russische Expertinnen und Experten aus regionalen Methodenzentren, Universitäten, Verwaltungen und Unternehmen zu den Instrumenten der Berufsorientierung in Deutschland. Lesen Sie hier den Beitrag.