BP:
 

Tanzania—vocational education and training puts young people in a stronger position

Tanzania wishes to introduce dual vocational education and training based on the German model. A pilot project conducted by the Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades is bringing young people up to speed. The plan now is for dual training to be introduced across the country on the basis of the project.

Tanzania—vocational education and training puts young people in a stronger position
f.l.t.r.: Reinaldo Udewald (Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades), Frank Glücklich (Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades, off-duty) and Peter Maduki (VETA)

Tanzania has taken the decision to introduce a dual training system (Dual Apprenticeship Training System—DATS) based on the German model across the country from 2018. This move has its foundations in a successful pilot project carried out in three sectors (motor vehicle mechanics, the electrical branch, and hotels/tourism) to investigate whether the successful German model is theoretically transferable to the prevailing circumstances in Tanzania. Both the pilot project and the development and establishment of the new training system as an independent educational pathway are being supported by the Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades and receiving financial backing from the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

Tanzania’s journey towards the introduction of a dual training system took place as follows.
In 2008, initial contact was established between the Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades and Mr. Zebadiah Moshi, head of the Tanzanian “Vocational Education and Training Authority” (VETA) at the time. This process was instigated by the late Honorary Consul Jürgen Gotthardt, who invited Zebadiah Moshi to Hamburg as part of the city’s twinning arrangements with Dar es Salaam to familiarise himself with the German dual training system. VETA was convinced by the German model and was persuaded that the German dual system should be transferred to Tanzania and adjusted to meet local conditions. The hope was that this would lead to an increase in both the quality and quantity of vocational education and training in the country with the dual aim of promoting Tanzania’s trade and industry and of combating rising youth unemployment.

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 67729
f.l.t.r.: Francis Komba (VETA), Reinaldo Udewald (Hamburg Chamber of Crafts and Trades), Dr. Bwire Ndazi (VETA), Leah Lukindo (VETA) and Frederick Mushi (VETA) with the three best pupils of the first year.

The pilot project was launched in 2011. Following an appropriate preparatory period, the first trainees entered the three-year programme in 2013. The 4th cohort is currently undergoing training, and just under 250 young people have completed the dual scheme thus far. The members of the first cohort were awarded their state-recognised qualification in 2016. Most of those completing the programme have been taken on by the companies providing training, whilst others have found employment with another firm.
In May 2017, the Hamburg Senate invited the three trainees who had finished top of their class in the first cohort to travel to Hamburg for four weeks in order to deepen the knowledge they had acquired by visiting companies in the city. This was the first time that the young people involved had left Tanzania, and the trip provided a unique and intensive learning experience.

With the successful launch of dual training models in the motor vehicle mechanics, electrical and hotels/tourism sectors, the pilot project has created a level of VET cooperation between the private sector and VETA which is unprecedented in Tanzania. This would not have been possible without a cultural shift on the part of the companies and at VETA. All of those involved underwent a steep learning curve. Workshops also needed to be adapted in order to fulfil the enhanced requirements. Nevertheless, the outcomes proved a motivation to all stakeholders and convinced the government that the “Dual Apprenticeship Training System” (DATS) should be introduced nationwide from 2018.

The project is financed by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) within the framework of the “Vocational Education and Training Partnership Programme (BBP)” programme via sequa.

X

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte von BIBB.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Govet

Tansania: Berufliche Bildung stärkt junge Menschen

v.l.n.r.: Reinaldo Udewald (Langzeitexperte der HWK Hamburg vor Ort), Frank Glücklich (Hauptgeschäftsführer der HWK Hamburg a. D.) und Peter Maduki (Chairman des VET-Boards, Aufsichtsgremium der VETA)© HWK Hamburg

Tansania setzt auf duale Berufsausbildung nach deutschen Vorbild. Ein Pilotprojekt der Handwerkskammer Hamburg macht junge Menschen fit für den Beruf. Auf Grundlage des Projekts soll duale Ausbildung nun landesweit eingeführt werden.

Tansania hat sich entschieden, ab 2018 ein duales Ausbildungssystem (Dual Apprenticeship Training System – DATS) nach deutschem Vorbild landesweit einzuführen. Die Basis dafür ist ein erfolgreiches Pilotprojekt, in dem in drei Sektoren (KFZ, Elektro und Hotellerie/Tourismus) erprobt wurde, ob das deutsche Erfolgsmodell sich überhaupt auf die Verhältnisse in Tansania transferieren lässt. Das Pilotprojekt wie auch die Entwicklung und der Aufbau des neuen Ausbildungssystems als eigenständiger Bildungsweg wird von der Handwerkskammer Hamburg unterstützt und finanziell vom Bildungsministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit (BMZ) gefördert.

Und so kam es dazu, dass Tansania ein duales Ausbildungssystem einführt:
2008 entstand der erste Kontakt zwischen der Handwerkskammer Hamburg und Herrn Zebadiah Moshi, dem damaligen Chef der in Tansania für beruflichen Bildung zuständigen Institution „Vocational Education and Training Authority“ (VETA). Initiiert wurde dies durch den Honorarkonsul Jürgen Gotthardt (†), der Herrn Zebadiah Moshi im Rahmen der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Hamburg und Dar es Salaam nach Hamburg einlud, um das deutsche duale Ausbildungssytem kennenzulernen. Das deutsche Modell hat VETA überzeugt und bewogen, das deutsche duale System nach Tansania zu transferieren und an die dortigen Gegebenheiten anzupassen. VETA erhoffte sich davon eine Erhöhung von Qualität und Quantität der beruflichen Ausbildung in ihrem Land. Dadurch sollte die tansanische Wirtschaft gefördert und gleichzeitig die steigende Jugendarbeitslosigkeit bekämpfen werden.

v.l.n.r.: Francis Komba (Projektkoordinator, VETA), Reinaldo Udewald, Dr. Bwire Ndazi (Director General, VETA), Leah Lukindo (Director of Training, VETA) und Frederick Mushi (Leiter der neu eingerichteten Abteilung, Dual Apprenticeship Training System - DATS, VETA) mit den drei klassenbesten Schülern des ersten Jahrgangs. © HWK Hamburg

Das Pilotprojekt startete im Jahr 2011. Nach einer entsprechenden Vorbereitungszeit begannen die ersten Auszubildenden im Jahr 2013. Inzwischen befindet sich der vierte Jahrgang in der dreijährigen Ausbildung. Insgesamt durchlaufen bislang knapp 250 Jugendliche diese duale Ausbildung. Der erste Jahrgang hat 2016 seinen Abschluss mit staatlicher Anerkennung erlangt. Die meisten Absolventen sind von ihren Betrieben übernommen worden. Einige haben bei einem anderen Betrieb eine Anstellung gefunden.
Der Hamburger Senat hat die drei klassenbesten Schüler aus dem ersten Ausbildungsjahrgang im Mai 2017 für vier Wochen nach Hamburg eingeladen, um ihre erlernten Kenntnisse in Hamburger Betrieben zu vertiefen. Für sie war es ein einmaliges und lernintensives Erlebnis.

Mit der erfolgreichen Einführung der dualen Ausbildungsmodelle in den Sektoren Kfz, Elektro und Hotel/Tourismus hat das Pilotprojekt eine Zusammenarbeit in der beruflichen Bildung zwischen dem Privatsektor und VETA begründet, wie es sie zuvor in Tansania nicht gab. Ohne einen Kulturwechsel bei den beteiligten Betrieben und bei VETA wäre dies nicht gelungen. Alle Beteiligten mussten viel Neues lernen. Auch die Werkstätten mussten an die gehobenen Ansprüche angepasst werden. Doch die Ergebnisse motivierten alle Stakeholder und überzeugten die Regierung, das „Dual Apprenticeship Training System“ (DATS) ab 2018 nun landesweit einzuführen.

Das Projekt wird vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) im Rahmen des Programms „Berufsbildungspartnerschaften mit der deutschen Wirtschaft“ über die sequa finanziert.