BP:
 

The dual system of vocational education and training thrills the Minister of Education of Brunei

A visit to Berlin by the Minister of Education of Brunei at the end of January showed just how untypical the dual VET system is in other parts of the world. State Secretary Schütte received the minister at the BMBF German Ministry of Education to engage in detailed discussions on vocational education and training. The guests also expressed a targeted interest in networking opportunities for teachers and learners and in education and training provision.

The dual system of vocational education and training thrills the Minister of Education of Brunei
State Secretary Dr. Schütte (BMBF) receives the delegation headed by Brunei Minister of Education Sulaiman together with the team from the “VET International” department at BIBB.

How does Germany manage to get companies on board to provide training, and why do they contribute voluntarily to the costs?” was one of the first questions which Brunei’s Minister of Education Hamzah bin Haji Sulaiman put to State Secretary Dr. Georg Schütte (Federal Ministry of Education and Research, BMBF). This is an issue that was to crop up regularly during the Brunei delegation’s two-day programme in Berlin. The guests met vocational school principals, trainers, companies, chambers, training providers, trainees and master craftsman pupils in the city and were repeatedly impressed by the degree of coordination that takes place in cooperation between learning venues and by the complex structures within the German VET system. In Brunei and other countries, responsibility based on a spirit of partnership and the investments made in skilled worker training by numerous stakeholders as a result of this approach are anything but typical.

The four-strong Brunei delegation comprised high ranking representatives from the government and from national technical vocational education and training (TVET) institutions. The study visit tour began at the BMBF in Berlin, where the group was welcomed by State Secretary Dr. Georg Schütte in the company of Hajah Rakiah binti Haji Abdul Lamit, Brunei’s Ambassador to Germany. GOVET and iMOVE joined forces with Birgit Thomann, Head of the “VET International” department at BIBB, to provide a technical introduction.

Vocational education and training that delivers sustainability

Vocational education and training in Brunei is undergoing a comprehensive reform process as the country seeks to meet economic development needs and technological change and achieve the UN’s goals for sustainable development, to which it aligns itself closely. Brunei launched the implementation of its national development objectives by founding the Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE) in 2014. These targets are defined in a white paper entitled “Transformation of Technical Vocational Education and Training”.  TVET and the question of how sustainable innovations can initiate the systematic and quality-oriented further development of occupational profiles play a key role in Brunei. The hope is that high-quality training can act as a vehicle for generating expertise and impetus in the companies. The aim is to reveal the added value of good training both to young people in the VET orientation phase and to the firms and to use this to drive development.

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaBild 102114
At the SHK Centre of Excellence, Minister of Education Sulaiman was interested in the motivation and occupational biographies of participants in master craftsman training.

Brunei has a well-established and profitable gas and oil industry which is of the opinion that responsibility for providing qualified skilled workers rests with the state. In order to be able to offer young people a genuine choice, the country has moved away from supply-based approach to embrace a more demand-oriented view of training prospects. “In order to secure a long-term benefit for the individual, for the economy, for society and for the country as a whole,” stated Deputy State Secretary Dr. Chin Weih Keh during the discussions with GOVET, “we need vocational education and training that is high-end in terms of quality.” He also believes that it is necessary to bring about a rethink within industry. The establishment of selected pilot business segments could help lead to a new culture of training, skills and quality which features dual structures. There are good examples from cooperation countries that show this to be possible.

Training centres and vocational schools demonstrate impressive progress and competence

One of the venues where the guests from Brunei were able to gather ideas and technical guidance was the Centre of Excellence run by the Sanitary, Heating, Plumbing and Air Conditioning Systems Guild (SHK). The SHK has joined forces with the “Craft Trades Future” Foundation to help teach young skilled workers the expertise they require. It uses state-of-the-art technology to advise and train experts from all over Germany and abroad. The delegates went on to visit training centres specialising in the automobile sector and in other craft trades, and these ports of call also provided impressive evidence of just how wide-ranging and differentiated today’s specialist training has become. Digitalised training aids are able to offer remarkable possibilities.

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaBild 102106
Virtual welding at the ABB Training Centre in Berlin

However, the highly committed school principals and heads of training also reported on some of the real world problems faced in vocational education and training. Investment in the motivation and support of young people who still need guidance in some cases costs resources, patience and persuasive effort. But the delegation was able to see that such endeavours pay off. The group met large numbers of highly motivated young men and women who made a striking impact thanks to their very good command of technical English, the way in which they were able to reflect upon their own career pathways, and the enthusiasm they displayed for their occupations. Stories such as those of Kimberly Maletz, a trainee mechatronics fitter at an upper secondary school centre specialising in motor vehicle engineering, showed that motivation to train in a particular occupation can be related to events in life and is therefore often unpredictable. “I had a car accident and didn’t know how I would be able to pay the expensive repair bill,” said Kimberly. “So I thought, next time I’ll fix it myself!” State Secretary Schütte and all the hosts involved essentially had the same message for the visiting delegates. The high degree of permeability and flexibility which exists at many points of the (vocational) education system in Germany are crucial criteria for securing high rates of employment and skilled worker training.

Partnerships, networks and prognoses along the path to TVET reform

At the end of the visit, the Brunei delegation’s desire for networking and cooperation with German training centres, training providers and companies was both confirmed and reinforced. “As a small country with limited sector diversity, Brunei could benefit from […] building up partnerships with German vocational schools,” summarised the Brunei government representative Dr. Chin Wei Keh, “because they have great proximity to the companies, branches and their products.[…] We now need to find the right persons and mechanisms and bring dual training expertise to our country.”

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaBild 102103
Minister Sulaiman and Ambassador Lamit invited the GOVET team to final discussions at the Embassy of Brunei in Berlin.

GOVET staff member Dr. Hannelore Kress had initially made contact with Dr. Chin Wei Keh, who is highly committed to TVET, at an ASEM workshop in Riga in 2018. With regard to potential further steps to be taken, Dr. Kress recommended the delegation to seek closer networking in the ASEAN region, where active VET cooperation agreements and initiatives already exist in countries such as Vietnam and Singapore. The German embassy has also established a vocational education and training round table in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia). GOVET offered specific support in the form of a possible Summer School to look at data collection methods in the area of labour market analysis and TVET requirements. It became clear that evidence-based medium to long-term prognoses, particularly with regard to human resources capacities, were one of the key instruments of coherent TVET strategy development.

BP:
 

Duale Ausbildung begeistert Bildungsminister aus Brunei

Wie wenig selbstverständlich die duale Ausbildung in anderen Teilen der Welt ist, zeigte sich beim Besuch des bruneiischen Bildungsministers Ende Januar in Berlin. Staatssekretär Schütte empfing den Minister zum Erfahrungsaustausch in der Berufsbildung im BMBF. Die Gäste äußerten ein gezieltes Interesse an Austauschmöglichkeiten für Lehrende und Lernende sowie an Bildungs- und Qualifizierungsangeboten.

Duale Ausbildung begeistert Bildungsminister aus Brunei
StS Dr. Schütte (BMBF) empfängt die Delegation um Bruneis Bildungsminister Sulaiman mit dem Team der BIBB-Abteilung Berufsbildung International.

„Wie nur gelingt es in Deutschland, die Unternehmen bei der Ausbildung mit ins Boot zu holen und warum beteiligen sie sich freiwillig an den Ausbildungskosten?“ war eine der ersten Fragen, die der bruneiische Bildungsminister Hamzah bin Haji Sulaiman Staatssekretär Dr. Georg Schütte (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung – BMBF) stellte. Im Laufe des zweitägigen Berlin-Programms der Delegation aus Brunei Darussalam sollte sie noch öfter fallen. In der Begegnung mit Berliner Berufsschulleitungen und Ausbildenden, Unternehmen, Kammern und Bildungsanbietern, Auszubildenden und Meisterschülern waren die Gäste aus Brunei immer wieder beeindruckt von der Koordinierung der Lernort-Kooperation und den komplexen Strukturen im deutschen Berufsbildungssystem. Eine partnerschaftliche Verantwortung und damit verbundene Investitionen der zahlreichen Akteure für die Fachkräfte-Ausbildung ist in Brunei und anderen Ländern alles andere als selbstverständlich.

Zum Auftakt der Study Visit-Tour begrüßte Staatssekretär Dr. Georg Schütte die vierköpfige Delegation hochrangiger Vertreter aus Regierung und nationalen Bildungseinrichtungen in der Berufsbildung (Technical Vocational Education and Training – TVET) im Berliner BMBF. Die bruneiische Botschafterin Hajah Rakiah binti Haji Abdul Lamit begleitete die Delegation. Die fachliche Einführung erfolgte durch GOVET und iMOVE gemeinsam mit Birgit Thomann, Abteilungsleiterin Berufsbildung International (BIBB).

Berufliche Bildung, um der Zukunft nachhaltig gewachsen zu sein

Die berufliche Bildung Bruneis befindet sich in einem umfassenden Reformprozess – mit Blick auf wirtschaftliche Entwicklungsbedarfe, den technologischen Wandel und die Erreichung der UN-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, an denen sich das Land stark orientiert. Mit der Gründung des Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE) brachte Brunei 2014 die Umsetzung seiner nationalen Entwicklungsziele auf den Weg. Definiert sind diese im Whitepaper zur „Transformation der beruflichen Bildung“.  Eine zentrale Schlüsselrolle spielt dabei die Berufsbildung (in Brunei: TVET) und die Frage, wie nachhaltige Innovationen für eine systematische zukunfts- und qualitätsorientierte Weiterentwicklung von Berufsbildern angestoßen werden können. Die Hoffnung Bruneis ist, über eine hochwertige Ausbildung Expertise und Impulse in die Unternehmen bringen zu können. Ziel ist, den Mehrwert guter Ausbildung sowohl jungen Menschen in der Berufsorientierungsphase als auch Unternehmen aufzuzeigen und als Entwicklungsmotor zu nutzen.

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 92883
Im SHK Kompetenzzentrum befragte Bildungsminister Sulaiman Meisterkurs-Teilnehmer interessiert zu ihrer Motivation und ihren beruflichen Biografien.

Brunei hat eine etablierte und gewinnbringende Öl- und Gasindustrie, die die Verantwortung für qualifizierte Fachkräfte beim Staat sieht. Damit junge Menschen eine echte Wahl haben, hat sich Brunei eine Entwicklung weg von angebots-, hin zu nachfrageorientierten Ausbildungsperspektiven auf die Fahnen geschrieben. „Um einen langfristigen Nutzen für den Einzelnen, die Wirtschaft, die Gesellschaft und das Land als Ganzes sicher zu stellen“ so der stellvertretende Staatssekretär Dr. Chin Weih Keh im Gespräch mit GOVET „braucht es eine qualitativ hochwertige Berufsausbildung“. Hier müsse es gelingen, ein Umdenken in der Industrie anzustoßen. Über die Etablierung ausgesuchter Unternehmenszweige mit Pilotfunktion könnte sich eine neue Ausbildungs-, Qualifikations- und Qualitätskultur mit dualen Strukturen anstoßen lassen. Das zeigen gute Beispiele aus den Kooperationsländern.

Ausbildungszentren und Berufsschulen beeindrucken durch Fortschritt und Kompetenz

Anregungen und fachlichen Rat holten sich die Gäste aus Brunei unter anderem im Kompetenzzentrum der Innung Sanitär – Heizung – Klempner – Klima (SHK) Berlin. Das SHK-Kompetenzzentrum vermittelt gemeinsam mit der Stiftung „Handwerk stiftet Zukunft“ Expertise an den Fachkräfte-Nachwuchs. Mit neuesten technologischen Entwicklungen beraten und qualifizieren die Experten deutschlandweit und im Ausland. Auch die weiteren Anlaufstationen im Bereich Automotive und Handwerk des Study Visits veranschaulichten auf beeindruckende Weise, wie weit und differenziert die spezialisierte Fachausbildung heute ist. Dabei bieten digitalisierte Ausbildungshilfen bemerkenswerte Möglichkeiten.

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 92887
Virtuelles Schweißen im ABB Ausbildungszentrum Berlin

Die engagierten Schul- und Ausbildungsleiter berichteten aber auch von Problemen in der Berufsbildungsrealität: Die Investition in die Motivation und Unterstützung teils noch orientierungshilfebedürftiger junger Menschen kostet Ressourcen, Geduld und Überzeugungsarbeit. Dass sich das lohnt, erlebte die Delegation in der Begegnung mit etlichen hochmotivierten jungen Männern und Frauen, die mit sehr gutem Fachenglisch, selbstreflektierten Karrierewegen und Begeisterung für ihren Beruf Eindruck hinterließen. Dabei haben Geschichten wie die von Kimberly Maletz – angehende Mechatronikerin am Oberstufenzentrum Kraftfahrzeugtechnik (OSZ KFZ) – gezeigt, dass die Motivation zum Erlernen eines Berufs nicht selten Lebensweltbezug braucht und häufig unvorhersehbar ist: „Ich hatte einen Autounfall und wusste nicht, wie ich den teuren Schaden bezahlen soll. Da habe ich mir gesagt: Das nächste Mal repariere ich selbst!“ Unisono gaben dementsprechend Staatssekretär Schütte und alle Gastgeber der Delegation mit auf den Weg: Hohe Durchlässigkeit und Flexibilität im (Berufs-)Bildungssystem, wie wir sie in Deutschland an vielen Stellen schon haben, sind entscheidende Kriterien für hohe Beschäftigungsquoten und die Fachkräfte-Qualifizierung.

Partnerschaften, Netzwerke und Prognosen auf dem Weg zur TVET-Reform

Am Ende des Besuchs aus Brunei erfuhr der mitgebrachte Wunsch nach Austausch und Kooperation mit deutschen Ausbildungsstätten, Bildungsanbietern wie auch Unternehmen, Bestätigung und Nachdruck: „Brunei als kleines Land mit begrenzter Branchenvielfalt könnte davon profitieren, […] Partnerschaften mit deutschen Berufsschulen aufzubauen“ resümierte Dr. Chin Wei Keh „…da sie sehr nah an den Unternehmen und Branchen und ihren Produkte sind.[…] Wir müssen jetzt die richtigen Personen und Mechanismen finden und uns Know-How zur dualen Ausbildung ins Land holen.“

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBildZoom 92888
Zum Abschlussgespräch luden Minister Sulaiman und Botschafterin Lamit das GOVET-Team in die Berliner Botschaft Bruneis ein.

 GOVET-Mitarbeiterin Dr. Hannelore Kress hatte den Kontakt zu dem TVET-engagierten Regierungsvertreter Bruneis beim ASEM-Workshop in Riga 2018 geknüpft. Mit Blick auf weitere mögliche nächste Schritte empfahl Dr. Kress der Delegation, sich auch im ASEAN-Raum weiter zu vernetzen. Dort existieren bereits aktive Kooperationen und Initiativen zur Berufsbildung, etwa in Vietnam, Singapur oder über einen Runden Tisch zur Berufsbildung, den die deutsche Botschaft in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) etabliert hat. Konkrete Unterstützung bot GOVET in Form einer möglichen Summer School zu Methoden der Datenerhebung im Bereich Arbeitsmarktanalyse und TVET-Bedarfe an. Deutlich wurde, dass evidenzbasierte mittel- bis langfristige Prognosen – insbesondere hinsichtlich personeller Kapazitäten – zu den wichtigsten Instrumenten einer kohärenten TVET-Strategie-Entwicklung gehören.