BP:
 

German Presidency of the EU Council – strong vocational education and training in the coronavirus crisis

On 1 July 2020, Germany took its turn to assume the Presidency of the Council of the European Union for a period of six months. The motto adopted is: “Together for Europe’s recovery”. The only way in which the European countries will be able to meet the challenges of the future is to have strong and effective vocational education and training in place. The main thematic focuses of European cooperation over the coming six months will be digitalisation, sustainability and a post-2020 VET strategy.

German Presidency of the EU Council – strong vocational education and training in the coronavirus crisis

The role of vocational education and training in increasing the resilience of the European Union

The impact of the coronavirus crisis has left all countries in the European Union facing major education and employment policy challenges. The fear is that a deterioration in the economic situation right across Europe will lead to dire consequences for youth unemployment and in terms of the continent’s shortage of skilled workers. This makes it even more important to act now to strengthen vocational education and training and to offer companies the support they need to continue to commit to training. Europe can only emerge from the present crisis in a stronger, more inclusive and more sustainable position if strong and effective vocational education and training is in place.

 

Transition to a new phase in the European strategy on vocational education and training

2020 marks an important turning point in European VET policy. The Lisbon Strategy was adopted two decades ago and was followed ten years later by its successor “Europe 2020” Strategy and by the Commission’s strategy to support vocational training. The aim now is to present a post-2020 strategy for vocational education and training during the German Presidency of the EU Council. The expectation is that the topics of digitalisation and sustainability will be accorded a considerably higher degree of significance.

The von der Leyen Commission (2019-2024) is currently drawing up its future priorities. The objective is for VET systems to provide greater support for social justice, competitiveness and innovative approaches in Europe. The post-2020 strategy will include an updating of the Skills Agenda for Europe and a new Council Recommendation on Vocational Education and Training. A draft of the latter was published on 1 July 2020. This EU Recommendation is set to be negotiated and adopted over the course of the next few months. The aim is that cooperation between the European Commission, the German EU Council Presidency and European VET stakeholders will secure a smooth transition between previous and future vocational education and training priorities.

The European Vocational Skills Week returns

The annual European Vocational Skills Week (EVSW) is being staged right across Europe for the fifth time from 9 to 13 November 2020. The guiding motto for this year’s event is #DiscoverYourTalent. The week will feature Europe-wide activities at a local, regional and national level. The goals are to illustrate positive aspects of vocational training and to showcase specific examples of excellence and quality. The European Commission is calling upon VET stakeholders everywhere in Europe to organise events and activities during this period. These may include open days, the announcement of successful vocational education and training programmes and other awareness measures. Activities can be registered on the campaign site of the European Commission with immediate effect.

The highlight of the European Vocational Skills Week (EVSW) will be a European VET conference entitled “VET Excellence for Green and Digital Transitions”. This will be held in Berlin on 11 and 12 November 2020. The conference is being staged in conjunction with the BMBF and within the scope of the German EU Council Presidency. The intention is to broadcast the event live in order to ensure the greatest possible participation both right across Europe and worldwide. There are also plans for a conference on the role of the chambers and the social partners in Germany in Europe and for online events dealing with various initial and continuing training topics. Online registration for these EVSW events will go live in the coming weeks.

The supporting role of the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB)

“Working together to strengthen vocational education and training” lies at the heart of the cooperation that is taking place between the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and BIBB within the framework of the German Presidency of the EU Council. In this context, BIBB has been commissioned with the task of using its expertise to support the activities undertaken by the BMBF in the area of vocational education and training. The BMBF and BIBB are thus both in pursuit of the dual goals of enhancing the esteem in which VET is held in Germany and Europe and of intensifying collaboration between national and European stakeholders.  A project team at BIBB, which is based in Division 3.1 - “International VET Comparison, Research and Monitoring”, will be on hand to provide the BMBF with guidance.

BP:

Schlagworte A-Z. Bitte wählen Sie einen Anfangsbuchstaben:

 

Deutsche EU-Ratspräsidentschaft: Eine starke Berufsbildung in der Corona-Krise

Am 1. Juli 2020 hat Deutschland turnusgemäß für ein halbes Jahr die EU-Ratspräsidentschaft übernommen. "Gemeinsam. Europa wieder stark machen." lautet das Motto. Im Mittelpunkt der europäischen Zusammenarbeit in den nächsten sechs Monaten werden die Themenfelder Digitalisierung, Nachhaltigkeit und die Post 2020-Strategie für die Berufsbildung stehen. Denn nur mit einer starken Berufsbildung können die europäischen Länder den Herausforderungen der Zukunft begegnen.

Deutsche EU-Ratspräsidentschaft: Eine starke Berufsbildung in der Corona-Krise

Rolle der Berufsbildung zur Stärkung der Resilienz der Europäischen Union

Die Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise stellt alle Länder in der Europäischen Union vor große bildungs- und beschäftigungspolitische Herausforderungen. Es ist zu befürchten, dass die europaweite Verschlechterung der wirtschaftlichen Situation erhebliche Folgen auf die Jugendarbeitslosigkeit und den Fachkräftemangel in Europa haben wird. Umso wichtiger ist es jetzt, die Berufsbildung zu stärken und die Betriebe dabei zu unterstützen, sich in der Ausbildung weiter zu engagieren. Denn nur mit einer starken Berufsbildung kann Europa stärker, inklusiver und nachhaltiger aus der derzeitigen Corona-Krise kommen.

Übergang zu einer neuen Phase in der europäischen Strategie für die Berufsbildung

2020 markiert einen wichtigen Wendepunkt in der europäischen Berufsbildungspolitik: Vor zwei Dekaden wurde die Lissabon Strategie verabschiedet, vor zehn Jahren die Nachfolgestrategie „Europa 2020“ und die Kommissionsstrategie zur Förderung der Berufsbildung. Die Post 2020-Strategie für die Berufsbildung soll nun während der deutschen Ratspräsidentschaft vorgestellt werden. Dabei ist zu erwarten, dass die Themenfelder Digitalisierung und Nachhaltigkeit erheblich an Bedeutung gewinnen werden.

Die Kommission von der Leyen (2019-2024) bereitet derzeit die künftigen Prioritäten vor. Ziel dabei ist, dass die Berufsbildungssysteme die soziale Gerechtigkeit, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Innovationsansätze in Europa verstärkt unterstützen. Zur Post 2020-Strategie gehören u.a. die Aktualisierung der europäischen Agenda für Kompetenzen (engl. European Skills Agenda) sowie eine neue EU-Ratsempfehlung zur Zukunft der beruflichen Bildung (engl. Proposal for a Council Recommendation on vocational education and training), dessen Entwurf am 01. Juli 2020 veröffentlicht wurde. Diese EU-Empfehlung soll in den nächsten Monaten verhandelt und verabschiedet werden. Durch die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Europäischen Kommission, der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft und den europäischen Akteuren der Berufsbildung soll ein reibungsloser Übergang zwischen den bisherigen und den künftigen Berufsbildungsprioritäten sichergestellt werden.

Europäische Woche der Berufsbildung geht in die nächste Runde

Unter dem Motto #DiscoverYourTalent findet vom 9. bis zum 13.11.2020 bereits zum fünften Mal die Europäische Woche der Berufsbildung (European Vocational Skills Week - EVSW) in ganz Europa statt. Die Woche umfasst europaweit Aktivitäten auf lokaler, regionaler und nationaler Ebene. Damit sollen positive Aspekte der beruflichen Bildung aufgezeigt und konkrete Beispiele für Exzellenz und Qualität präsentiert werden. Die Europäische Kommission ruft Akteure der Berufsbildung in ganz Europa dazu auf, in diesem Zeitraum Veranstaltungen und Aktivitäten zu organisieren. Dazu zählen etwa Tage der offenen Tür, die Bekanntmachung erfolgreicher Berufsbildungsprogramme und andere Sensibilisierungsmaßnahmen. Ab sofort können Aktivitäten auf der Kampagnenseite der Europäischen Kommission angemeldet werden.

Das Highlight der EVSW wird die europäische Berufsbildungskonferenz unter dem Titel „VET Excellence for Green and Digital Transitions“ am 11. und 12.11.2020 in Berlin sein. Die Konferenz wird in Kooperation mit dem BMBF im Rahmen der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft durchgeführt. Sie soll live übertragen werden, um auf diese Weise eine möglichst große Beteiligung in ganz Europa und weltweit sicherzustellen. Geplant sind zudem eine Konferenz zur Rolle der Kammern und der Sozialpartner in Deutschland und in Europa sowie Online-Events zu verschiedenen Themen der Aus- und Weiterbildung. Die Online-Anmeldung zu den Veranstaltungen der EVSW wird in den nächsten Wochen freigeschaltet.

Unterstützende Rolle des BIBB

„Berufsbildung gemeinsam stärken“ steht im Mittelpunkt der Zusammenarbeit zwischen BMBF und BIBB im Rahmen der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft. In diesem Kontext ist das BIBB beauftragt worden, die Aktivitäten des BMBF im Bereich der Berufsbildung durch seine Expertise zu unterstützen. Damit verfolgen das BMBF und das BIBB das Ziel, das Ansehen der Berufsbildung in Deutschland und Europa zu stärken sowie die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den nationalen und europäischen Akteuren zu intensivieren. Ein Projektteam im BIBB, das im Arbeitsbereich 3.1 „Berufsbildung im internationalen Vergleich, Forschung und Monitoring“ angesiedelt ist, steht dem BMBF beratend zur Seite.