BP:
 

“We need to take the people with us!”

Special conference at BIBB looks specifically at the occupational changes caused by digitalisation

Digitalisation is leaving its mark on sectors, occupational profiles and skills requirements. How deeply is it affecting company business and production processes? To what extent are the structures of tasks and jobs changing? And what about the human element in all of this? The above questions were a subject of debate for around 200 experts attending a special two-day conference held at the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB) in Bonn and entitled “Vocational education and training – automation, digitalisation and polarisation”. The prevailing opinion which emerged from the presentations and workshops was that digitalisation mainly offered opportunities. BIBB President Professor Friedrich Hubert Esser also stressed that the challenges could be overcome: “But we need to take the people with us!”

“We need to take the people with us!”

The first day of the conference focused on fundamental issues related to the topic and on possible social implications. The keynote address was given by the economist and Oxford Professor Carl Benedikt Frey, who in 2013 had attracted attention with a joint study carried out with the engineer Michael Osborne on the likelihood of the robotisation of the American labour market. In Bonn, Professor Frey emphasised that human creativity, social intelligence and perception of objects remained irreplaceable, despite fears of impacts on employment in an age of bits and bytes.

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBild 56276

The “polarisation thesis” put forward by Frey and Osborne states that ongoing automation in capitalist societies does not lead to a general higher level of qualification for all workers. The result is much more of a division into a small proportion of highly qualified staff with specialist technical knowledge on the one hand and a larger group of workers who remain unqualified on the other.

As was presented by BIBB researchers, the polarisation thesis does not strictly apply in Germany. Results have shown that the proportions of low-skilled and highly qualified employees are only rising at the expense of those with vocational qualifications in a very small section of the German economy. Fundamentally, the number of persons with academic qualifications will do up, and the number of vocationally qualified and low-skilled workers will fall. Increased cognitive requirements will then ensure that education becomes more important across all stages of life.

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBild 56279

On the second day of the conference, four workshops held in parallel provided a detailed opportunity for participants to familiarise themselves with further BIBB research results. Preliminary investigations into dual IT core occupations revealed, for example, that the contents of the training regulations need to be updated. Secondly, a BIBB project conducted jointly with Volkswagen AG showed that the activity profile drawn up for a skilled worker in automated maintenance did not correspond to any training occupation and that clarification needed to take place as to how a supply of young skilled workers can be secured in future.

A third workshop provided information on the findings that had emerged from a BIBB research project on the use of digital media. These make it possible to describe the media competence of company-based training staff via a model. The aim now is for this model to serve as a basis for developing continuing training concepts for training staff. The topic addressed in workshop was the extent to which digitalisation was exerting an effect in the construction sector and in commercial occupations in particular.

bild

The event concluded with a podium discussion on digitalisation and vocational education and training. Representatives from academic research, a major automotive group and an employers’ association all felt that the focus needed to be on the consequences that needed to be drawn as a result of the upheavals caused by digitalisation. more detailed IT training for vocational school teaching staff, particular motivation for employees and digital studies as a compulsory subject in schools were just some of the ideas to be put forward.

The presentations and discussions were supplemented by an exhibition of items relating to the topic of digitalisation. The special conference formed part of “Skilled worker qualifications and competences for the digitalised work of the future”, a joint initiative by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and BIBB.

X

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte des Internetauftritts www.bibb.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

„Wir müssen die Menschen mitnehmen!“

Fachtagung im BIBB konkretisiert berufliche Veränderungen durch Digitalisierung

Professor Dr. Friedrich Hubert Esser

Die Digitalisierung prägt Branchen, Berufsprofile und Qualifikationsanforderungen. Wie tief gehen die Einschnitte in betriebliche Geschäfts- und Produktionsprozesse? Inwiefern ändern sich die Strukturen von Tätigkeiten und Beschäftigungen? Und wo bleibt bei alledem der Mensch? Darüber tauschten sich rund 200 Expertinnen und Experten bei der zweitägigen Fachtagung „Berufsbildung: Automatisierung — Digitalisierung — Polarisierung“ im Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung (BIBB) in Bonn aus. In Vorträgen und Workshops überwog die Meinung, die Digitalisierung biete vor allem Chancen. Auch BIBB-Präsident Prof. Dr. Friedrich Hubert Esser betonte, die Herausforderungen seien zu meistern – „Wir müssen aber die Menschen mitnehmen!“

Im Zentrum des ersten Tags der Tagung standen die grundsätzlichen Fragen zum Thema sowie mögliche soziale Auswirkungen. Den Hauptvortrag hielt der Oxford-Professor Carl Benedikt Frey. Der Ökonom hatte 2013 zusammen mit dem Ingenieur Michael Osborne eine aufsehenerregende Studie über die Wahrscheinlichkeit der Robotisierung des amerikanischen Arbeitsmarkts vorgelegt. In Bonn hob Frey hervor, dass trotz befürchteter Einbrüche bei Beschäftigungen im Zeitalter der Bits und Bytes menschliche Kreativität, soziale Intelligenz und die Wahrnehmung von Objekten unersetzbar seien.

Prof. Carl Benedikt Frey

Die von Frey und Osborne geprägte „Polarisierungsthese“ besagt: Die fortschreitende Automation in kapitalistischen Gesellschaften führt nicht zu einer allgemeinen Höherqualifizierung aller Arbeitenden; vielmehr komme es zu einer Aufteilung — in einen kleineren Teil hochqualifizierter technisch-wissenschaftlich Arbeitender einerseits und in einen größeren Teil weiterhin unqualifizierter Arbeitender andererseits.

Wie Forscherinnen und Forscher des BIBB vortrugen, trifft die Polarisierungsthese in Deutschland im engeren Sinn nicht zu. Nur in einem sehr kleinen Teil der deutschen Wirtschaft, so die Ergebnisse, werden die Anteile an gering- und hochqualifizierten Beschäftigten auf Kosten beruflich qualifizierter Beschäftigter steigen. Grundsätzlich wird die Zahl von Akademikern zunehmen und die Zahl von beruflich Qualifizierten und Geringqualifizierten abnehmen. Erhöhte kognitive Anforderungen sorgen dann dafür, dass Bildung in allen Lebensabschnitten noch wichtiger wird.

 

Am zweiten Tag der Tagung boten vier parallel stattfindende Workshops ausführlich Gelegenheit, weitere Forschungsergebnisse des BIBB zur Digitalisierung näher kennenzulernen. So habe erstens die Voruntersuchung von dualen IT-Kernberufen nahegelegt: Die Inhalte der Ausbildungsordnungen sind zu aktualisieren. Und so zeige zweitens ein gemeinsam mit der Volkswagen AG durchgeführtes Projekt des BIBB: Da das erstellte Tätigkeitsprofil der Fachkraft in der automatisierten Instandhaltung keinem anerkannten Ausbildungsberuf entspricht, sei zu klären, wie man hier künftig Fachkräftenachwuchs sichere.

Ein dritter Workshop informierte darüber, was ein BIBB-Forschungsprojekt zur Nutzung digi-taler Medien ergeben hat. Danach ist es möglich, mittels eines Modells Medienkompetenz von betrieblichem Ausbildungspersonal zu beschreiben. Dieses Modell soll nun dazu dienen, Weiterbildungskonzepte des Ausbildungspersonals zu entwickeln. Inwiefern sich die Digitali-sierung zumal in der Baubranche und bei kaufmännischen Berufen auswirkt, thematisierte Workshop Nummer vier.

Eine Podiumsdiskussion über Digitalisierung und Berufsbildung bildete den Schlusspunkt der Veranstaltung. Aus Sicht von Vertretern der Wissenschaft, eines großen Automobilkonzerns und eines Verbands ging es um die Konsequenzen, die aus den Wirkungen der digital geprägten Umwälzungen zu ziehen sind. Eine vertiefte IT-Schulung von Berufsschullehrkräften, eine besondere Motivierung der Mitarbeiter und Digitalkunde als Pflichtfach in Schulen — das waren nur einige der Ideen.

Eine Ausstellung mit Ausbildungs-Exponaten zum Thema Digitalisierung ergänzte die Vorträge und Diskussionen. Die Fachtagung war Teil der gemeinsamen Initiative „Fachkräftequalifikationen und Kompetenzen für die digitalisierte Arbeit von morgen“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) sowie des BIBB.

Workshop 1: IT-Voruntersuchung - Ergebnisse der IT-Voruntersuchung

Workshop 2: Operative Instandhaltung 4.0 - Ausbildung neu justieren

Workshop 3: IT- und Medienkompetenz – eine neue Schlüsselqualifikation für Auszubildende?

Workshop 4: Berufsbezogene Wirkungen der Digitalisierung in der Baubranche und bei kaufmännischen Berufen: Ergebnisse der Qualifikations- und Berufsprojektionen