BP:
 

Information about the event

2nd BIBB Conference on the Economics of Vocational Education and Training: Markets - Institutions – Systems
Date: 07.11.2019 – 08.11.2019
Organiser: Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB)

The BIBB hosts its second conference on the economics of vocational education and training (VET) on November 7th and 8th 2019 in Siegburg. The conference will bring together researchers from all related fields to discuss the most recent empirical and theoretical results on this subject.

The labour markets of many industrialised countries are facing extensive technological and demographic changes. Digitalisation, networking, and robotics all transform the world of work and with it the demand for skills and qualifications. This development is accompanied by a decreasing number of young people undertaking vocational training. Instead, school graduates are increasingly pursuing academic qualifications. Furthermore, many regions are struggling to integrate refugees and people with a migration background into the labour market.

Vocational education and training (VET) is often valued for its ability to help young people transition smoothly from education to employment. VET also allows those already employed to adapt to the changing demands of their fields. Despite an increasing amount of research in this area, many questions in the field of the Economics of VET remain unanswered. These questions pertain to both the decision to invest in VET and the outcomes thereof on the individual, firm- and state levels.

Therefore, BIBB organizes a conference to bring together researchers from all fields of research on economics of VET and to discuss the most recent empirical and theoretical research results on this subject.
The official language of the conference is English.

Call for Papers

We encourage the submission of extended abstracts (1000 to 1200 words) or full papers presenting new empirical or theoretical evidence in the field of economics of VET.

Authors are also encouraged to submit their accepted conference papers for publication in a special issue “The Economics of Vocational Education and Training“ of the peer-reviewed journal “Empirical Research in Vocational Education and Training”.

Keynote Speakers

  • Thomas Dohmen (University of Bonn)
  • Gerard Pfann (Maastricht University)
  • Heike Solga (WZB Berlin Social Science Center)

Scientific Committee

  • Simon Janssen (IAB - Institute for Employment Research)
  • Samuel Mühlemann (LMU Munich)
  • Harald Pfeifer (BIBB)
  • Wendy Smits (CBS – Statistics Netherlands)
  • Thomas Zwick (JMU Würzburg)

Registration

Registration is open between the 15th of August and the 28th of October 2019.

BP:

Schlagworte A-Z. Bitte wählen Sie einen Anfangsbuchstaben:

 

Informationen zur Veranstaltung

2. BIBB-Konferenz „The Economics of Vocational Education and Training: Markets - Institutions – Systems“
Datum: 07.11.2019 – 08.11.2019
Veranstalter: BIBB

Am 7./8.11.2019 wird in Siegburg die zweite BIBB-Konferenz „The Economics of Vocational Education and Training: Markets - Institutions – Systems“ stattfinden. Aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse zu diesen und angrenzenden Themen werden auf der Konferenz vorgestellt und diskutiert. Die Konferenzsprache ist Englisch.

Die Arbeitsmärkte in vielen Industrieländern stehen vor großen technologischen und demografischen Herausforderungen. Digitalisierung, Vernetzung und Robotik verändern die Arbeitswelt und damit auch den Bedarf an Kompetenzen und Qualifikationen. Diese Entwicklungen gehen einher mit einer abnehmenden Zahl von Jugendlichen, die sich für eine berufliche Ausbildung interessieren, da ein großer Teil der Schulabgängerinnen und Schulabgänger in einem Studium die bessere Perspektive sehen. Darüber hinaus bestehen in vielen Regionen große Schwierigkeiten bei der Integration von Flüchtlingen und Personen mit einem Migrationshintergrund in den Arbeitsmarkt.

Oft wird auf den wichtigen Beitrag der Berufsbildung hingewiesen, den sie für einen möglichst reibungslosen Übergang der Jugendlichen von der Schule in den Arbeitsmarkt leistet. Sie ermöglicht darüber hinaus den bereits im Arbeitsmarkt Beschäftigten ihr Wissen an sich ändernde berufliche Anforderungen anzupassen. Obwohl in den letzten Jahren die Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Ökonomie der Berufsbildung gestiegen ist, bleiben noch viele Fragen offen, z. B. mit Blick auf Investitionsentscheidungen und Erträgen der beruflichen Bildung auf individueller, betrieblicher und staatlicher Ebene.

Das BIBB lädt Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus allen Forschungsgebieten der Ökonomie der Berufsbildung ein, ihre neuesten empirischen und theoretischen Forschungsergebnisse auf der Konferenz vorzustellen und zu diskutieren.

Call for Papers

Eingereicht werden können Extended Abstracts (1000 bis 1200 Wörter) oder vollständige Beiträge.

Angenommene Beiträge können ebenfalls für eine Publikation in der Spezialausgabe „The Economics of Vocational Education and Training“ der referierten Fachzeitschrift „Empirical Research in Vocational Education and Training” eingereicht werden.

Keynote Speakers

  • Thomas Dohmen (University of Bonn)
  • Gerard Pfann (Maastricht University)
  • Heike Solga (WZB Berlin Social Science Center)

Scientific Committee

  • Simon Janssen (IAB – Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung)
  • Samuel Mühlemann (Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich/LMU)
  • Harald Pfeifer (BIBB)
  • Wendy Smits (CBS – Statistics Netherlands)
  • Thomas Zwick (Julius-Maximilians-University Würzburg/JMU)

Anmeldung

Die Anmeldung zur Konferenz ist vom 15.8. bis zum 28.10.2019 möglich.