X Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte des Internetauftritts www.bibb.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Doing a top job - also in Germany

BIBB portal informs about recognition of foreign professional qualifications

The “Recognition in Germany” portal provides information on how foreign professional and vocational qualifications can be recognised in Germany. Those seeking advice on the website are able to take advantage of a special service which guides them to the authority or chamber responsible for the occupation in question via a few clicks of the mouse.

The “Law to improve the assessment and recognition of professional and vocational education and training qualifications acquired abroad” (referred to in abbreviated form as the “Recognition Act”) has been in force in Germany since 1 April 2012. It standardises and extends the procedures for the evaluation of foreign professional and vocational qualifications at federal level. Relevant federal state legislation is in place for occupations governed by federal state law.

Cameroon-born Michelle-Ange Monteu (34) is an anaesthetist. She studied medicine in Mali, where she also worked as a doctor for a number of years before love brought her to Germany six years ago. When the new Recognition Act entered into force in April 2012, she was finally able to get her career properly back on track. Following an intensive specialist language course and a preparation course for the equivalence assessment procedure, she received her licence to practice in November 2012 and now works in a hospital in Mannheim. “There are great opportunities for me in Germany”, she says.

Recognition laws to govern procedures

Many other skilled workers with foreign qualifications are able to benefit from the statutory recognition regulations in the same way as Michelle-Ange Monteu. The Federal Government Recognition Act has been in force since 1 April 2012. It standardises and extends the procedures for the evaluation of foreign professional and vocational qualifications at federal level. The Act covers the dual training occupations, master craftsman occupations, other advanced training qualifications and further occupations regulated by professional laws such as doctor or lawyer. Relevant federal state legislation is in place for occupations governed by federal state law (e.g. teacher, medical specialist, architect, social education worker).

The Federal Government has created a series of support measures to ensure the successful implementation of the law. The main information portal to accompany the Recognition Act is “Recognition in Germany” and mainly acts as a guide. In Germany, there is no single national agency responsible for processing applications. The relevant competent body depends on place of residence and follows a different system according to occupation and federal state.

The “Recognition Finder” identifies the competent body

A practical online tool in the form of a “Recognition Finder” shows the address of the competent body for the occupation in question via just a few clicks of the mouse.

Visitors to the portal can enter their occupation into the “Recognition Finder” and use the occupational profile displayed to investigate the German qualification that is a match for the qualification acquired abroad. In order to identify the competent body to which an application should be submitted, users are asked to enter their (preferred) place of residence in Germany. A few clicks later, the site shows the address to which application for an equivalence assessment procedure should be made. The portal’s database current contains more than 1,500 contact addresses for the recognition procedures of occupations governed at both Federal Government and federal state level. A summary of all the important information for making an application, such as what documentation is needed, is also provided. The service is available in German and English. An “Advanced Filter” is now also in place. This is mainly aimed at specialist advisory staff and now provides an even more convenient and differentiated way of searching by competent body and occupation.

 The “Recognition in Germany” portal is operated by BIBB on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). It is financed within the scope of the “Integration through training – IQ” funding programme sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Federal Employment Agency.

X

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte des Internetauftritts www.bibb.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Top im Job - auch in Deutschland

BIBB-Portal informiert zur Anerkennung ausländischer Berufsqualifikationen

Frau Monteu im Ärztekittel in einem Krankenhaus

Wie ausländische Berufsabschlüsse in Deutschland anerkannt werden können, darüber informiert das Portal „Anerkennung in Deutschland“. Als besonderer Service leitet die Website Ratsuchende mit wenigen Klicks zu der für die Antragstellung zuständigen Behörde oder Kammer.

Seit dem 1. April 2012 ist das „Gesetz zur Verbesserung der Feststellung und Anerkennung im Ausland erworbener Berufsqualifikationen“, kurz Anerkennungsgesetz des Bundes in Kraft. Es vereinheitlicht und erweitert die Verfahren zur Bewertung ausländischer Berufsqualifikationen auf Bundesebene. Für die landesrechtlich geregelten Berufe gibt es entsprechende Ländergesetze.

Michelle-Ange Monteu (34) ist Anästhesistin. Die gebürtige Kamerunerin hat in Mali Medizin studiert und dort auch einige Jahre als Ärztin gearbeitet. Der Liebe wegen kam sie vor sechs Jahren nach Deutschland. Als das neue Anerkennungsgesetz im April 2012 Kraft trat, konnte sie beruflich endlich richtig durchstarten: Nach einem Fachsprach-Intensivkurs und einem Vorbereitungskurs auf die Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung erhielt sie im November 2012 ihre Approbation und arbeitet jetzt in einem Krankenhaus in Mannheim. „Hier in Deutschland habe ich tolle Möglichkeiten“, sagt Monteu.

Anerkennungsgesetze regeln Verfahren

So wie Michelle-Ange Monteu können viele andere Fachkräfte mit ausländischen Qualifikationen von den gesetzlichen Regelungen zur Anerkennung profitieren. Seit dem 1. April 2012 ist das Anerkennungsgesetz des Bundes in Kraft. Es vereinheitlicht und erweitert die Verfahren zur Bewertung ausländischer Berufsqualifikationen auf Bundesebene. Es umfasst die dualen Ausbildungsberufe, Meisterberufe, sonstige Fortbildungsabschlüsse und weitere in Fachgesetzen geregelte Berufe wie zum Beispiel Ärzte oder Rechtsanwälte. Für die landesrechtlich geregelten Berufe (zum Beispiel Lehrer, Fachärzte, Architekten oder Sozialpädagogen) gibt es entsprechende Ländergesetze.

Zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung des Gesetzes hat die Bundesregierung eine Reihe von Unterstützungsangeboten geschaffen. Das zentrale Informationsportal zum Gesetz heißt „Anerkennung in Deutschland“ und hat vor allem eine Wegweiser-Funktion. Denn in Deutschland gibt es keine bundesweite Stelle, die für die Bearbeitung der Anträge zuständig ist. Die zuständige Stelle richtet sich nach dem Wohnort und folgt je nach Beruf und Bundesland einer anderen Systematik.

„Anerkennungs-Finder“ leitet zur zuständigen Stelle

Ein praktisches Online-Tool namens „Anerkennungs-Finder“ liefert nach wenigen Klicks die Adresse der für den jeweiligen Beruf zuständigen Stelle.

In den „Anerkennungs-Finder“ kann man seinen Beruf eingeben und anhand des angezeigten Berufsprofils den deutschen Berufsabschluss recherchieren, der zu der im Ausland erworbenen Qualifikation passt. Um die für den Antrag zuständige Stelle herauszufinden, wird der (gewünschte) Wohnort in Deutschland abgefragt. So bekommt man mit wenigen Klicks die Adresse, bei der man den Antrag auf eine Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung stellen kann. Derzeit verzeichnet die Datenbank mehr als 1.500 verschiedene Kontaktadressen für die Anerkennungsverfahren von Berufen in Bundes- und Länderzuständigkeit. Außerdem werden an dieser Stelle alle wichtigen Informationen für die Antragsstellung zusammengefasst – zum Beispiel, welche Unterlagen man dafür braucht. Das Angebot ist auf Englisch und Deutsch verfügbar. Im „Profi-Filter“ können vor allem Beratungsfachkräfte nun noch bequemer und differenzierter nach zuständigen Stellen und Berufen suchen.

Das Portal “Anerkennung in Deutschland” wird vom BIBB im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) betrieben. Gefördert wird es im Rahmen des Förderprogramms “Integration durch Qualifizierung – IQ”, das vom Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales, dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (BA) getragen wird.