BP:
 

US shows increasing interest in dual training

Over recent years, a planned US government legislative initiative has increasingly focussed public attention on the topic of dual vocational education and training. Following an invitation from the German Embassy, Prof. Dr. Hubert Ertl, Director of Research and Vice President of BIBB, last week participated as an expert as regards the dual vocational education and training system in high-level events taking place in Boston and in Washington DC on the subject of the American reform process.

US shows increasing interest in dual training
f.l.t.r: Lucy Kruske (Consultant Worldbank), Omar Arias (Manager of Global Engagement and Knowldedge in the Education Global Practice), Prof. Hubert Ertl (BIBB), Victoria Levin (Senior Economist, Co-Lead Skills Global Solutions Group), Michael Weber (Senior Economist, Co-Lead Skills Global Solutions Group), Koji Miyamoto (Senior Economist).

On 31 October 2019, Prof. Ertl and representatives of the departments of labour, economic affairs and education met at the main office of the Representative of German Industry and Trade in Washington D.C. (RGIT). The Americans were particularly interested in experience with projects for establishing vocational education and training organised on a dual basis in economic sectors that have little previous experience of training in the workplace. This is the aim behind the planned introduction of the Industry-Recognized Apprenticeship Program (IRAP) in the US. Prof. Ertl cautioned against pressing ahead with expansion at the expense of transparency and the quality of training standards. He explained that training standards had to be created on a sector-wide basis and not just reflect the requirements of individual companies.

Core elements of dual training — the basis for international cooperation and consultancy in VET

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaBild 115374

BIBB's experience in cooperating with and offering consultancy to foreign partners on issues relating to vocational education and training was the subject of a seminar given by Prof. Ertl at the World Bank following the meeting at RGIT. The staff from the World Bank and from other government and non-government organisations were very interested in approaches developed by BIBB for setting up and supporting vocational education and training systems where workplace-oriented learning was not traditionally established.

Further information on BIBB's advisory services

During the discussion panel, questions primarily addressed the involvement of social partners in training events with respect to foreseeable changes in national and global labour markets and in relation to the necessary changes to training content and methods brought about by digitalisation. At the end of the seminar, World Bank representatives stressed their interest in working with BIBB in future on issues of sustainable international corporation and consultancy in vocational education and training.

Workplace-oriented training — a key element in skilled worker strategies

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaBild 115444
f.l.t.r: Lucy Kruske (Co-organiser German American Conference), Prof. Hubert Ertl, Barbara Humpton, Dr. Andrea Mayfield, Marc Bayard (Host, Associate Fellow and the Director of the Institute for Policy Studies’ Black Worker Initiative), John Ladd, Deeneaus Polk (Co-Chair German American Conference).

Future strategies for the development of workplace-oriented vocational education and training in the US was also the focus of the podium discussion which was held on 1 November 2019 as part of the German American Conference at the Harvard Kennedy School. Prof. Ertl introduced specific aspects of the German discussion and particularly emphasised the importance of collaboration between employers and employee representatives in the development of training regulations in Germany. In view of the current reform efforts in the US, a robust process, accepted by all parties involved, for determining training content and standards appears to be particularly important. However, in many areas there is a lack of a consensual process in the US to support this.

For the Americans, John Ladd from the US Department of Labor emphasised that the involvement of employee representatives in many US states is problematic as the required trade union structures are not in place everywhere.

Barbara Humpton, CEO of Siemens USA, pointed to training programmes at Siemens which are based on dual training standards in Germany and which contribute significantly to securing the company's supply of skilled labour in the US. She also acknowledged that the expertise the German parent company and the size of the company made it easier to offer modern training.

Andrea Mayfield, Director of the Mississippi Community College Board, talked about community college strategies for developing training programmes in cooperation with local companies. However, funding shortfalls in collaborative projects frequently proved to be an insurmountable obstacle. She explained that in this case it was the responsibility of the state to provide more support.

In the Q&A session, podium discussion participants addressed with the audience, among other things, the issue of integrating young people from social minorities. In the course of this it became apparent that, despite all the differences between the systems, there really are similar experiences with selected integration tools. Useful instruments therefore need to be created for the long term and must specifically address the particular needs of various target groups.

Background

Over the last two years, the US government has pressed ahead with reforms in the education and training system with the aim of strengthening and expanding training organised on a dual basis. Over the two-month consultation period following the publication of the proposed rule, more than 325,000 comments, opinions and counter proposals were received by the Department of Labor. This shows just how relevant the issue is and the differing views relating to it. The proposed rule can be accessed at the following link.

Proposed Rule on Industry-Recognized Apprenticeship Programs

International BIBB Congress 2022 – Be Part of It!

BP:

Schlagworte A-Z. Bitte wählen Sie einen Anfangsbuchstaben:

 

USA zeigen wachsendes Interesse an dualer Ausbildung

Eine geplante Gesetzesinitiative der US-Regierung rückte in den letzten zwei Jahren das Thema der dualen Berufsbildung verstärkt in den Blickpunkt der Öffentlichkeit. Einer Einladung der Deutschen Botschaft folgend, nahm Prof. Dr. Hubert Ertl, Forschungsdirektor und Ständiger Vertreter des Präsidenten des BIBB, in der letzten Woche als Experte für das duale Berufsbildungssystem an hochrangig besetzten Veranstaltungen zum amerikanischen Reformprozess in Boston und Washington D.C. teil.

USA zeigen wachsendes Interesse an dualer Ausbildung
v.l.n.r: Lucy Kruske (Consultant Weltbank), Omar Arias (Manager of Global Engagement and Knowldedge in the Education Global Practice), Prof. Hubert Ertl (BIBB), Victoria Levin (Senior Economist, Co-Lead Skills Global Solutions Group), Michael Weber (Senior Economist, Co-Lead Skills Global Solutions Group), Koji Miyamoto (Senior Economist).

Am 31. Oktober 2019 trafen sich Prof. Ertl und Vertreter der Ministerien für Arbeit, Wirtschaft und Bildung am Sitz des Delegierten der Deutschen Wirtschaft in Washington D.C. (RGIT) zu einem Gespräch. Von besonderem Interesse für die US-Amerikaner waren Erfahrungen mit dem Vorhaben, dual organisierte berufliche Ausbildung in Wirtschaftssektoren zu verankern, die bislang wenig Erfahrung mit Ausbildung am Arbeitsplatz haben. Dies ist ein Ziel der geplanten Einführung der sogenannten Industry-Recognized Apprenticeship Programs (IRAP) in den USA. Prof. Ertl warnte davor, diese Ausweitung auf Kosten von Transparenz und Qualität von Ausbildungsstandards voranzutreiben. So müssten Ausbildungsstandards immer sektorweit ausgelegt sein und nicht nur die Bedürfnisse einzelner Unternehmen widerspiegeln.

Kernelemente dualer Ausbildung als Grundlage für internationale Kooperation und Beratung in der beruflichen Bildung

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaBild 114670

Die Erfahrungen des BIBB in der Kooperation und Beratung ausländischer Partner in Fragen der beruflichen Bildung war Gegenstand eines Seminars, das Prof. Ertl im Anschluss an den RGIT-Termin bei der Weltbank durchführte. Die teilnehmenden Mitarbeiter von Weltbank und anderen Regierungs- und Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen zeigten großes Interesse an den vom BIBB entwickelten Ansätzen zum Aufbau und zur Unterstützung von Berufsbildungssystemen, in denen arbeitsplatzorientiertes Lernen traditionell nicht verankert ist.

Weitere Informationen zum internationalen Beratungsansatz des BIBB

In der Diskussionsrunde wurden in erster Linie Fragen zur Beteiligung der Sozialpartner am Ausbildungsgeschehen, hinsichtlich abzusehenden Veränderungen in nationalen und globalen Arbeitsmärkten und bezüglich der durch Digitalisierung notwendig werdenden Veränderungen in Ausbildungsinhalten und -methoden thematisiert. Zum Abschluss des Seminars betonten Vertreter der Weltbank ihr Interesse, in Zukunft mit dem BIBB in Fragen der nachhaltigen internationalen Kooperation und Beratung in der Berufsbildung zusammenzuarbeiten.

Arbeitsplatzorientierte Ausbildung als zentrales Element in Fachkräftestrategien

_inhalt_Contentseite-MediaBild 114671
v.l.n.r: Lucy Kruske (Mitorganisatorin German American Conference), Prof. Hubert Ertl, Barbara Humpton, Dr. Andrea Mayfield, Marc Bayard (Moderator, Associate Fellow and the Director of the Institute for Policy Studies’ Black Worker Initiative), John Ladd, Deeneaus Polk (Co-Chair German American Conference /ehem. BIBB).

Die zukünftigen Strategien zur Weiterentwicklung der arbeitsplatzorientierten Berufsausbildung in den USA standen auch im Mittelpunkt einer Podiumsdiskussion, die am 1. November 2019 im Rahmen der German American Conference an der Harvard Kennedy School stattfand. Prof. Ertl brachte spezifische Aspekte der deutschen Diskussion ein und unterstrich besonders die Bedeutung der Zusammenarbeit von Arbeitgebern und Arbeitnehmervertretern bei der Entwicklung von Ausbildungsordnungen in Deutschland. Angesichts des aktuellen Reformbestrebens in den USA, scheint ein robuster und von allen beteiligten Seiten akzeptierter Prozess zur Festlegung von Ausbildungsinhalten und -standards besonders wichtig zu sein. In vielen Bereichen fehlt in den USA jedoch ein konsensuales Verfahren dazu.

Von amerikanischer Seite betonte John Ladd vom US-Arbeitsministerium, dass sich die Beteiligung von Arbeitnehmervertretern in vielen Bundesstaaten der USA schwierig gestaltet, weil nicht überall die notwendigen Gewerkschaftsstrukturen vorhanden sind.

Barbara Humpton, Vorstandsvorsitzende von Siemens USA, verwies auf Ausbildungsprogramme bei Siemens, die sich an den Standards der dualen Ausbildung in Deutschland orientieren und einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Fachkräftesicherung des Unternehmens in den USA leisten. Sie räumte jedoch ein, dass die Expertise des deutschen Mutterkonzerns und die Größe des Unternehmens es erleichtert, eine moderne Ausbildung anzubieten.

Andrea Mayfield, Direktorin des Mississippi Community College Board, berichtete von Strategien der Community Colleges, Ausbildungsprogramme zusammen mit lokalen Unternehmen zu entwickeln. Finanzierungsengpässe bei kollaborativen Projekten erweisen sich jedoch häufig als ein unüberwindliches Hindernis. Der Staat sei hier in der Verantwortung, mehr Unterstützung zu leisen.

Die Teilnehmer der Podiumsdiskussion griffen in der Fragerunde mit den Zuhörern u. a. das Thema der Integration von Jugendlichen aus gesellschaftlichen Minderheiten auf. Dabei stellte sich heraus, dass es trotz aller Unterschiede zwischen den Systemen durchaus ähnliche Erfahrungen mit ausgewählten Integrationsinstrumenten gibt. So müssen erfolgsversprechende Instrumente langfristig angelegt sein und die besonderen Bedürfnisse von verschiedenen Zielgruppen spezifisch aufgreifen.

Hintergrund

Die Regierung der USA hat in den letzten beiden Jahren Reformen im Bildungssystem vorangetrieben, die das Ziel verfolgen, dual organisierte Ausbildung zu stärken und auszuweiten. Während der zweimonatigen Konsultationsperiode nach Veröffentlichung des Gesetzentwurfs gingen über 325.000 Kommentare, Stellungnahmen und Gegenvorschläge beim Arbeitsministerium ein. Dies zeigt die Brisanz des Themas und die unterschiedlichen Ansichten dazu. Der Entwurf kann unter nachfolgendem Link aufgerufen werden.

Proposed Rule on Industry-Recognized Apprenticeship Programs