BP:
 

Vocational education training research in the age of digital transformation: “Let it be” or “Here comes the sun”?

Following his appointment last year as Professor of Vocational Education and Research at Paderborn University, BIBB Research Director Prof. Ertl has now delivered an inaugural lecture entitled “Vocational education and training research in the age of digital transformation” and posed a musically inspired question: “Let it be” or “Here comes the sun”?

Vocational education training research in the age of digital transformation: “Let it be” or “Here comes the sun”?

In his lecture, Professor Ertl clearly illustrated which approaches and structural elements of the German vocational education and training system have been successful and have stood the test of time (“Let it be”), and which developments present particular opportunities (“Here comes the sun”).

He forcefully made the case for maintaining the systemic basic structures of vocational education and training in Germany. He explained that, by combining theory and practice, the German system of vocational education and training has been shown to contribute to facilitating transitions into qualified activities and that it is internationally recognised as a reference model. However, targeted ongoing development of the system is required to address the current challenges being faced.

Professor Ertl regarded the issue of matching as one of these challenges. Using data from the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training, he highlighted the reasons why supply does not meet demand in the German training market. He explained that the solution included a responsibility for the regions because extreme regional differences are a feature of supply-related problems and the filling of training places in the training market.

In Professor Ertl’s view, the huge change arising from the digitalisation of the working and professional environment is producing opportunities, which is the reason why he adopted a nuanced approach in presenting various perspectives on these changes in his lecture. Prof. Ertl, who held a professorship at Oxford University from 2004 to 2017 and who is an acknowledged expert in the British vocational education and training system, provided new insights on this issue by using a comparison of the German and British systems to help highlight the opportunities and challenges digitalisation presents for vocational education and training.

Prof. Ertl: “The digital transformation represents a catalyst for a new beginning in German VET! A challenge for research is to shape this beginning in dialogue with policy making and practice.”

inhalt_Contentseite-MetaBild 88772
f.l.t.r. BIBB President Prof. Esser, Prof. Ertl and Prof. Sureth-Sloane (Paderborn University)

To conclude, Prof. Ertl presented how the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB) is meeting these challenges in its research and introduced the BIBB Research Strategy 2025, in particular the support for graduates and future thematic clusters.

In September 2017, at the same time as his appointment as Director of Research and Vice President of the BIBB, Prof. Ertl took up his professorship for vocational education and training research in Department 5, Business and Human Resource Education, at the Faculty of Business Administration and Economics at Paderborn University. On the basis of a cooperation agreement between BIBB and Paderborn University, the joint appointment reflects BIBB’s closer collaboration with universities and the institution’s increased networking in the higher education sector.

Impressions

International BIBB Congress 2022 – Be Part of It!

X

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte des Internetauftritts www.bibb.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Berufsbildungsforschung in Zeiten der digitalen Transformation: “Let it be” oder “Here comes the sun”?

Foto: Prof. Dr. Hubert Ertl am Rednerpult
© Universität Paderborn / BIBB

Nachdem BIBB-Forschungsdirektor Prof. Ertl bereits im vergangenen Jahr zum Professor für Berufsbildungsforschung an der Universität Paderborn berufen wurde, hielt er jetzt eine Antrittsvorlesung mit dem Titel „Berufsbildungsforschung in Zeiten der digitalen Transformation“ und einer musikalisch inspirierten Fragestellung: „Let it be" oder "Here comes the sun"?

In seiner Vorlesung stellte Prof. Ertl auf anschauliche Weise dar, welche Ansätze und Strukturelemente des deutschen Berufsbildungssystems erfolgreich sind und sich bewährt haben („Let it be“) und in welchen Entwicklungen besondere Chancen liegen („Here comes the sun“).

Entschieden warb er dafür, die systemischen Grundstrukturen der Berufsbildung in Deutschland beizubehalten. Das duale System der deutschen Berufsausbildung leiste durch seine Verbindung von Theorie und Praxis nachweislich einen Beitrag, Übergänge in qualifizierte Tätigkeiten zu erleichtern und sei international als Referenzmodell anerkannt. Dies erfordere aber eine gezielte Weiterentwicklung des Systems, um aktuelle Herausforderungen zu bewältigen.

Als eine dieser Herausforderungen betrachtete Prof. Ertl die Passungsproblematik. Anhand von Daten aus dem Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung zeigte er Gründe auf, warum Angebot und Nachfrage auf dem Ausbildungsmarkt nicht zur Deckung kommen. Die Lösung sei aber unter anderem eine regionale Aufgabe, da Versorgungs- und Besetzungsprobleme auf dem Ausbildungsmarkt regional sehr unterschiedlich ausgeprägt seien.

Chancen ergeben sich für Prof. Ertl aus den enormen Veränderungen der Digitalisierung der Arbeits- und Berufswelt, weshalb er in seiner Vorlesung verschiedene Sichtweisen auf diese Veränderungen differenziert darlegte. Prof. Ertl, der von 2004-2017 eine Professur an der Universität Oxford innehatte und als ausgewiesener Kenner des britischen Berufsbildungssystems gilt, gab neue Einblicke zu dieser Thematik, in dem er die Chancen und Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung für die Berufsbildung anhand eines Systemvergleichs von Deutschland und Großbritannien aufzeigte.

Prof. Ertl: „Digitale Transformation ist Auslöser eines neuen Aufbruchs in der deutschen Berufsbildung! Es ist eine Herausforderung für Forschung im Dialog mit Politik und Praxis, diesen Aufbruch zu gestalten!“

Foto: BIBB-Präsident Prof. Esser, BIBB-Forschungsdirektor Prof. Ertl und Prof. Sureth-Sloane, Dekanin der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Paderborn
Foto: BIBB-Präsident Prof. Esser, Prof. Ertl und Prof. Sureth-Sloane, Dekanin der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Paderborn

Abschließend präsentierte Prof. Ertl, wie das Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung (BIBB) diese Herausforderungen in seiner Forschung aufgreift und stellte die „BIBB-Forschungsstrategie 2025“, insbesondere die Graduiertenförderung und die künftigen Themencluster, vor.

Herr Prof. Ertl hat seine Professur für Berufsbildungsforschung am Department 5 Wirtschaftspädagogik der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Paderborn im September 2017 gleichzeitig mit der Berufung zum Forschungsdirektor und Ständigen Vertreter des Präsidenten des BIBB übernommen. Die Gemeinsame Berufung auf Basis einer Kooperationsvereinbarung des BIBB mit der Universität Paderborn, ist Ausdruck der Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit des BIBB mit Hochschulen und einer stärkeren Vernetzung des BIBB im Hochschulbereich.

Impressionen der Veranstaltung