X Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser, mit dem nicht alle Inhalte des Internetauftritts www.bibb.de korrekt wiedergegeben werden können. Um unsere Seiten in Aussehen und Funktion in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können, empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen neueren Browser zu installieren.

Junior Professor

Prof. Dr. Christian Ebner

Christian Ebner is a Junior Professor of “Sociological VET Research” at the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training and at the University of Cologne.

He was previously an academic researcher at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and at the Social Science Research Centre Berlin (WZB) and has also been a visiting researcher at the London School of Economics (T.H. Marshall Fellowship) and a member of the College for Interdisciplinary Educational Research (CIDER Fellowship). He acquired his doctorate (Dr. phil.) at the Humboldt University in Berlin for his dissertation on the entry into employment of persons completing training in international comparative terms. Alongside research and teaching, the tasks of the Junior Professorship currently also include networking and advisory activities.

Main focuses of research

The main research focuses of Professor Ebner are in the thematic field of education and the labour market and are empirically sociological in their alignment. Current research topics are inequality on the labour market with regard to access and qualifications, transitions from training to the labour market in national and international comparative terms, participation in and returns from continuing vocational training, occupationally specific inequality on the labour market and atypical forms of employment and well-being. His research is largely based on data from the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training, such as the Employee Surveys conducted by the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training and the Federal Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (BIBB/BAuA Employee Survey) and the training places statistics (BIBB Research Data Centre).

Teaching

At the University of Cologne, Professor Ebner teaches on both Bachelor and Masters courses of study, primarily within the thematic area of “Training and the labour market”. The programmes he teaches encompass seminars and lectures which are more theoretically oriented as well as practical research projects which involve the statistical evaluation of academic research data sets. The close linking that is in place between the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training and the University of Cologne because of the Junior Professorship provides students with an opportunity to gain first hand insights into the activities of a federal institute and information on the topic of training. The data sets of the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training are evaluated with the scope of teaching programmes and final dissertations and thus gain greater awareness within the academic environment.

Networking activities are one of the core tasks of the Junior Professorship.

The Junior Professorship is housed at two organisations. These are the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training and the University of Cologne, in the latter case specifically the Institute for Sociology and Social Psychology. In his capacity as Junior Professor at the University of Cologne, Christian Ebner pursues the topic of VET research and also incorporates it into his teaching. He cooperates with academic researchers at the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training, at the Institute for Sociology and Social Psychology and more widely at the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences, of which the latter forms a part. He also maintains cooperation agreements with academic researchers at other non-university based research institutions such as the Social Science Research Centre Berlin and the Institute for Employment Research. Research results are imparted to a specialist audience comprising representatives of the general public, policy makers and trade and industry and are also presented at international academic research conferences. One particular objective in this regard is to strengthen the topic of VET research within the academic research community. Firstly, the topic is afforded a greater degree of establishment in the social sciences via ad-hoc groups (such as at the DGS Congress or at the Conference of the European Survey Research Association). As a co-founder of the Occupations and Social Equality Initiative, Professor Ebner’s objectives are to make sociological VET research more visible right across Germany, to network occupational researchers in a cross-organisational manner and to drive forwards sociological VET research in both theoretical and empirical terms.

BP:

Schlagworte A-Z. Bitte wählen Sie einen Anfangsbuchstaben:

 

Juniorprofessur

Ehemalige Juniorprofessuren

Prof. Dr. Christian Ebner war von 2014 bis Anfang 2019 Juniorprofessor für "Soziologische Berufsforschung" im Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung und an der Universität zu Köln.

Zuvor war er als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB) sowie am Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB) tätig. Er war zudem Gastwissenschaftler an der London School of Economics (T.H. Marshall Fellowship) und Mitglied des College for Interdisciplinary Educational Research (CIDER Fellowship). Seinen Doktorgrad (Dr. phil.) erwarb er an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin für seine Dissertation zum Erwerbseinstieg von Ausbildungsabsolventen im internationalen Vergleich. Zu den Aufgaben seiner Juniorprofessur gehörten neben Forschung und Lehre auch Vernetzungs- und Beratungstätigkeiten.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte von Prof. Ebner lagen im Themenbereich Bildung und Arbeitsmarkt und folgten einer empirisch soziologischen Ausrichtung. Forschungsthemen waren: Ungleichheit auf dem Ausbildungsmarkt mit Blick auf Zugang und Abschlüsse; Übergänge von der Ausbildung in den Arbeitsmarkt national und international vergleichend; die Teilnahme an und Erträge von beruflicher Weiterbildung; berufsspezifische Ungleichheit auf dem Arbeitsmarkt sowie atypische Beschäftigungsformen und Wohlbefinden. Die Forschung beruhte zu einem großen Teil auf Daten des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung, zum Beispiel der BIBB/BAuA Erwerbstätigenbefragung sowie der Ausbildungsstellenstatistik (Forschungsdatenzentrum des BIBB).

Lehre

Die Lehre an der Universität zu Köln richtete sich sowohl an Bachelor- wie auch Masterstudierende und war primär im Themenbereich "Ausbildung und Arbeitsmarkt" angesiedelt. Die Lehrveranstaltungen umfassten stärker theoretisch ausgerichtete Seminare und Vorlesungen sowie praktische Forschungsprojekte, im Rahmen derer wissenschaftliche Datensätze statistisch ausgewertet wurden. Die enge Verzahnung zwischen dem Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung und der Universität zu Köln durch die Juniorprofessur bot Studierenden die Möglichkeit, Einblicke in die Tätigkeiten eines Bundesinstituts und Informationen zum Thema Ausbildung aus erster Hand zu bekommen. Die Datensätze des Bundesinstituts für Berufsbildung wurden im Rahmen von Lehrveranstaltungen sowie von Abschlussarbeiten ausgewertet und somit auch im akademischen Umfeld verstärkt bekannt gemacht.


Eine Kernaufgabe der Juniorprofessur sind Vernetzungsaktivitäten.

Die Juniorprofessur selbst war an zwei Organisationen, dem Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung und der Universität zu Köln, konkret dem Institut für Soziologie und Sozialpsychologie, angesiedelt. Als Juniorprofessor besetzte Christian Ebner an der Universität zu Köln das Forschungsthema der Berufsforschung und brachte das Thema in die Lehre ein. Er kooperierte sowohl mit Wissenschaftlern am Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung wie auch am Institut für Soziologie und Sozialpsychologie sowie an der weiteren Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität zu Köln. Zudem unterhielt er Kooperationen mit WissenschaftlerInnen anderer außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen wie dem Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung und dem Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung. Die Forschungsergebnisse wurden sowohl einem interessierten Fachpublikum aus Öffentlichkeit, Politik und Wirtschaft vermittelt wie auch auf verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen präsentiert. Die Stärkung des Themas Berufsforschung in der Wissenschaft war dabei ein besonderes Anliegen. Einerseits wurde  das Thema über Ad-Hoc Gruppen (z.B. auf dem DGS-Kongress oder der Konferenz der European Survey Research Association) in den Sozialwissenschaften stärker etabliert. Als Mitbegründer der Forschungsinitiative Berufe und Soziale Ungleichheit wurde zudem das Ziel verfolgt, die soziologische Berufsforschung deutschlandweit stärker sichtbar zu machen, Berufsforscher organisationsübergreifend zu vernetzen und die soziologische Berufsforschung in theoretischer wie auch empirischer Hinsicht voranzutreiben.