BP:
 

2nd International BIBB Roadshow "Digital Media in VET“

With the International BIBB Roadshow 2021, BIBB offered insights into the use of digital media in VET for the 2nd time after 2019. The focus was on so-called immersive technologies, such as virtual reality, and their use in vocational training practice.

2nd International BIBB Roadshow "Digital Media in VET“

The 2021 BIBB International Roadshow “Digital Media in TVET” in the context of the BILT Learning Forum offered valuable insights on the benefits and challenges of developing and implementing digital media tools for TVET. The event put a focus on so-called immersive technologies – for instance virtual reality – as well as related technologies and their benefits for TVET practice.

The virtual event presented three practical examples from Hong Kong, Switzerland and South Africa. The projects show how virtual reality can be used, e.g.

  • to practice the maintenance and repair of passenger elevators (Hong Kong),
  • to support reflection on professional practices using video authoring tools (Switzerland), and
  • to promote learning through the execution of customer orders, e.g., electrical installations, in the context of a 3D video game application (South Africa).

Virtual Reality in VET - three practical examples

While Hong Kong has experienced manpower shortage in various industry sectors, the situation is more acute in traditional “dirty, dangerous and demanding jobs“. 

The VR Training Simulator for lift repair and maintenance makes use of immersive technologies to make learning fun and interesting, and to promote a new approach to training through technology in vocational and professional education (VPET) in Hong Kong. The application raises trainee’s safety awareness and improve trainee’s ability in responding to emergency and accidents in the lift maintenance sector.

The VR Training Simulator is recognised as an official Continuing Professional Development (CPD) training unit for registered workers in the lift maintenance industries. The project has received award at the 2020 Hong Kong ICT Awards and received the best performance award – Gold Award in the 19th Hong Kong Occupational Safety & Health Award in 2020.

About VTC Hong Kong

The Vocational Training Council (VTC), established in 1982, stands at the forefront of vocational and professional education and training (VPET) in Hong Kong. As a statutory body, the VTC ensures the skills of the Hong Kong workforce remain relevant and future ready through a full range of pre-employment and in-service programs. Its mandate to provide VPET in a wide spectrum of professions from diploma to degree levels is vital in meeting industry needs, and in fulfilling the aspirations of some 200,000 students across 13 member institutions every year.

VR Training Simulator for lift repair and maintenance

 

iVideo.education is a tool that supports active video-based learning. It promotes the creation of interactive videos using small pieces of footage, in order to foster knowledge acquisition, collaborative learning and students’ reflection on work practice.  iVideo.education allows vocational school teachers and in-company trainers, with no particular computer skills, to customize and structure didactic material for their own teaching or training activity, using existing footage and linking it to all sorts of different resources (text documents, images, audio files etc.). It also enables individual learners or groups of learners to insert notes directly into the video. As part of the BIBB International Roadshow 2021, the project presented concrete applications of iVideo.education in vocational education and training as well as research results that prove the benefits of the application. Furthermore, directions for the further development of the application were pointed out, in particular the use of so-called 360-degree hypervideos.

About SFUVET

The Swiss Federal University for Vocational Education and Training (SFUVET) is Switzerland's expert organisation for VET. It offers basic and continuing training to VET professionals, conducts VET research, contributes to the development of occupations and supports international cooperation in vocational and professional education and training.

iVideo.education

The interactive and dynamic virtual learning environments by FOSH Learning are provided within a digital BIM (Building Information Modelling) environment and contextualize required theoretical knowledge and practical skills as defined in South African occupational qualification standards.

By pursuing a project-based training approach, the FOSH learning application does not provide ready-made knowledge and answers. Instead, it creates the conditions for learners to independently plan, carry out and control work tasks in the context of specific customer requests in the area of electro installation. The application thus draws on advanced cognitive and technical skills required of artisans in an increasingly digitalized working environment and aims to strengthen the professional competencies of apprentice electricians in South Africa.

About FOSH Learning

FOSH specialises in the development of content, training material and learning experiences for various trades, including plumbing, electro installation, bricklaying and more through a collaborative and community-based approach that engages relevant stakeholders from the private and public sector and society in South Africa. By optimizing digital, virtual and online technology and combining this with modern methodologies, FOSH creates multi-dimensional and reality-based learning experiences that enable participants to succeed in the South African and African labour market.

virtual learning environments by FOSH Learning

The virtual learning environments offer trainees an opportunity to practice in a safe working environment, support the development of knowledge and competencies, while the integration of game-based elements (gamification) promote learner motivation.

The presented projects highlighted the importance of a goal-oriented use of digital technologies for technology-enhanced learning (TEL) to ensure a benefit for teaching and learning in TVET.

Challenges and perspectives of development for the use of digital media

The following discussion with the project representatives identified central challenges and development perspectives for the use of digital media in TVET:

The clarification of the goals and purposes in the development phase should always form the starting point for the design of digital learning applications and tools. In this context, it is important to identify industry requirements and adequate teaching practices to ensure that technology-enhanced TVET offers are relevant and effective. While working in multi-disciplinary teams is therefore a prerequisite, it is also time-consuming and can pose challenges in the development phase.

In the implementation phase, it is very important to stimulate the interest of teaching staff and show them, how digital technologies can facilitate their work. Furthermore, adapting new teaching practices in the context of TEL often poses considerable challenges for teachers and trainers and requires them to invest more time to use digital technologies effectively for teaching and training.

For the further development of TEL approaches in TVET, the project representatives agreed that the application of learning analytics would be a major step to support TVET delivery. Integrated collection and analysis of performance data has the potential to provide tailored learning pathways and support the assessment of individual training performance. In addition, analyzing learners’ so-called digital footprints will improve the understanding of how digital learning works.

All examples have been documented alongside further international project examples in the BIBB Online Toolbox “Using AR/VR in TVET”. The toolbox also features the English-language guide "Planning the Use of Augmented and Virtual Reality for VET - A Practical Guide", which provides a systematic overview of possible learning scenarios for the use of immersive technologies in vocational education and training.

International BIBB Congress 2022 – Be Part of It!

BP:

Schlagworte A-Z. Bitte wählen Sie einen Anfangsbuchstaben:

 

2. Internationale BIBB-Roadshow

Digitale Medien in der Berufsbildung

05.01.2022

Mit der Internationalen BIBB-Roadshow 2021 bot das BIBB nach 2019 zum 2. Mal Einblicke zur Nutzung digitaler Medien in der beruflichen Bildung. Der Schwerpunkt lag auf sogenannten immersiven Technologien, wie Virtual Reality, und deren Einsatz in der Berufsbildungspraxis.

2. Internationale BIBB-Roadshow
Internationale BIBB-Roadshow 2021 „Digitale Medien in der Berufsbildung“

Die internationale BIBB-Roadshow 2021 "Digitale Medien in der beruflichen Bildung" im Rahmen des BILT Learning Forum bot Einblicke zum Nutzen digitaler Medien und den potenziellen Herausforderungen in deren Entwicklung und Einsatz in der beruflichen Bildung. Die diesjährige Veranstaltung legte einen Schwerpunkt auf sog. immersive Technologien - zum Beispiel Virtual Reality - sowie verwandte Technologien und deren Einsatz in der Berufsbildungspraxis.

Die virtuelle Veranstaltung präsentierte drei Praxisbeispiele aus Hongkong, der Schweiz und Südafrika. Die Projekte illustrieren, wie mittels Virtual Reality

  • die Wartung und Reparatur von Personenaufzügen eingeübt (Hongkong),
  • die Reflexion beruflicher Praxis mit Hilfe von Video-Autorentools unterstützt (Schweiz) und
  • berufliches Lernen durch die Ausführung von Kundenaufträgen z.B. von Elektroinstallationen im Rahmen einer 3D-Videospielanwendung (Südafrika) gefördert wird.

Virtual Reality in der beruflichen Bildung – drei Praxisbeispiele

In Hongkong herrscht in verschiedenen Industriezweigen ein Arbeitskräftemangel, welcher insbesondere in als „3D“, d.h. „dirty, dangerous and demanding“ bezeichneten Berufen besonders akut ist.   

Der VR-Trainingssimulator für die Reparatur und Wartung von Aufzügen nutzt immersive Technologien, um das Lernen unterhaltsam und interessant zu gestalten und einen neuen Ansatz für die technologiegestützte Ausbildung in Hongkong zu fördern. Die Anwendung schärft das Sicherheitsbewusstsein der Auszubildenden und verbessert ihre Fähigkeit, auf Notfälle und Unfälle im Bereich der Aufzugswartung zu reagieren.

Der VR-Trainingssimulator ist als offizielle Weiterbildungsmaßnahme für registrierte Arbeitnehmer in der Aufzugswartungsbranche anerkannt. Das Projekt wurde bei den Hong Kong ICT Awards 2020 ausgezeichnet und erhielt die Auszeichnung für die beste Leistung – Gold - beim 19. Hong Kong Occupational Safety & Health Award 2020.
 

Über VTC Hongkong

Der 1982 gegründete Vocational Training Council (VTC) steht an der Spitze der beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung in Hongkong. Als Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts ist VTC dafür zuständig, durch ein umfassendes Angebot an Programmen zur beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung relevante und zukunftsfähige Qualifikationen der Arbeitskräfte in Hongkong sicherzustellen. Das breite Spektrum an Qualifizierungsangeboten des VTC leistet einen entscheidenden Beitrag, um den Erfordernissen der Industrie gerecht zu werden und die beruflichen Ambitionen von rund 200 000 Lernenden, die jedes Jahr an den 13 Mitgliedsinstitutionen ausgebildet werden, zu fördern.


Virtual and Augmented Reality (VAR) Learning - Transforming Training in Lift Repair and Maintenance

iVideo.education unterstützt aktives videobasiertes Lernen. Es ermöglicht die Erstellung interaktiver Videos, um Wissenserwerb, kollaboratives Lernen und die Reflexion der Lernenden über berufliche Praxis zu fördern. iVideo.education bietet schulischem und betrieblichem Ausbildungspersonal die Möglichkeit, ohne besondere Computerkenntnisse Lehrmaterialien für ihre Ausbildungsaktivitäten zu entwickeln und zu strukturieren, indem sie vorhandenes Filmmaterial verwenden und es mit unterschiedlichen Ressourcen (Textdokumente, Bilder, Audiodateien usw.) verknüpfen. Außerdem können einzelne Lernende oder Gruppen von Lernenden Notizen direkt in das Video einfügen. Im Rahmen der Internationalen Roadshow 2021 des BIBB stellte das Projekt konkrete Anwendungen von iVideo.education in der beruflichen Bildung vor und präsentierte Forschungsergebnisse, welche den Nutzen der Anwendung belegen. Weiterhin wurden Richtungen zur Weiterentwicklung der Anwendung aufgezeigt, insbesondere der Einsatz von sog. 360-Grad-Hypervideos.
 

Über SFUVET

Die Eidgenössische Hochschule für Berufsbildung (EHB) ist die schweizerische Fachorganisation für Berufsbildung. Sie bietet Aus- und Weiterbildungen für Berufsbildungsverantwortliche an, betreibt Berufsbildungsforschung, trägt zur Entwicklung der Berufe bei und unterstützt die internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Berufsbildung.

iVideo.education

Die interaktiven und dynamischen virtuellen Lernumgebungen von FOSH Learning werden in einer digitalen BIM-Umgebung (Building Information Modelling) bereitgestellt, um erforderliche theoretische Kenntnisse und praktische Fähigkeiten, welche in südafrikanischen beruflichen Qualifikationsstandards definiert sind, in einer realitätsnahen Lernumgebung zu kontextualisieren.

Durch den projektbasierten Schulungsansatz bietet Lernanwendung kein vorgefertigtes Wissen oder Antworten. Stattdessen können die Lernenden selbstständig Arbeitsaufgaben im Kontext konkreter Kundenaufträge im Bereich der Elektroinstallation planen, durchführen und kontrollieren. Die Lernanwendung fördert somit fortgeschrittene kognitive und technische Fähigkeiten, die von Handwerkern in einer zunehmend digitalisierten Arbeitsumgebung verlangt werden, und zielt darauf ab, die beruflichen Kompetenzen von angehenden Elektrikern in Südafrika zu stärken.
 

Über FOSH Learning

FOSH Learning ist auf die Entwicklung von Lerninhalten, Schulungsmaterial und Lernangeboten für verschiedene Berufe im Handwerk spezialisiert, z.B. Klempner, Elektroinstallateure und Maurer, und verfolgt dabei einen kollaborativen und partnerschaftlichen Ansatz, der relevante Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Staat sowie Gesellschaft in Südafrika einbezieht. Durch die Optimierung digitaler, virtueller und internetbasierter Technologien und die Kombination mit modernen Lehr- und Lernmethoden erschafft FOSH mehrdimensionale und realitätsnahe Lernerfahrungen, die es Teilnehmenden ermöglichen, auf dem südafrikanischen und afrikanischen Arbeitsmarkt erfolgreich zu sein.

 

Planning and Execution of Electrical Installations in an Authentic Virtual Environment

Die virtuellen Lernumgebungen bieten den Auszubildenden eine Übungsmöglichkeit in einer sicheren Arbeitsumgebung, unterstützen die Wissens- und Kompetenzentwicklung und fördern durch den Einsatz spielerischer Elemente (Gamification) die Motivation der Lernenden.

Die Projekte verdeutlichten die Bedeutung eines zielgerichteten Einsatzes digitaler Technologien für technologiegestütztes Lernen (TEL), um einen Nutzen für die Berufsbildungspraxis zu gewährleisten.

Herausforderungen und Entwicklungsperspektiven für den Einsatz digitaler Medien

In der Diskussion mit den Projektvertreterinnen und -vertretern wurden zentrale Herausforderungen und Entwicklungsperspektiven für den Einsatz digitaler Medien identifiziert:

In der Entwicklungsphase, ist es von zentraler Bedeutung, die Anforderungen der Industrie und geeignete Lehrmethoden für digital gestütztes Lernen zu bestimmen, um Relevanz und Nutzen digitaler Berufsbildungsangebote sicherzustellen. Die Entwicklung durch multidisziplinäre Teams ist daher eine wichtige Voraussetzung, aber auch zeitaufwändig und stellt somit auch eine Herausforderung dar.

In der Umsetzungsphase ist es besonders wichtig, zunächst das Interesse der Lehrkräfte zu wecken und ihnen zu vermitteln, wie digitale Technologien ihre Arbeit unterstützen können. Darüber hinaus stellt die Adaptierung neuer Unterrichtspraktiken im Kontext von technologiegestütztem Lernen Lehrkräfte und Ausbilder oft vor erhebliche Herausforderungen und erfordert einen höheren Zeitaufwand, um digitale Technologien effektiv für Unterricht und Ausbildung zu nutzen.

Für die zukünftige Entwicklung digitaler Lernangebote in der beruflichen Bildung waren sich die Projektvertreter einig, dass die Integration sog. Learning Analytics ein wichtiger Schritt ist, um beruflichen Lernen zu unterstützen. Die integrierte Messung, Sammlung und Analyse von Daten hat das Potenzial, maßgeschneiderte Lernangebote zu machen und die Prüfung und Bewertung der individuellen Ausbildungsleistung zu unterstützen. Darüber hinaus kann die Analyse der sog. digitalen Fußabdrücke der Lernenden das Verständnis dafür verbessern, wie digitales Lernen funktioniert.

Alle Projektbeispiele sind in der BIBB Online-Toolbox: Using AR/VR in TVET dokumentiert. Darin enthalten ist außerdem der englischsprachige Leitfaden „Planning the Use of Augmented and Virtual Reality for VET – A Practical Guide“, welcher einen systematischen Überblick zu möglichen Lernszenarien für den Einsatz immersiver Technologien in der beruflichen Bildung bietet.

International Roadshow / Online Toolbox AR/VR-enhanced learning in TVET