BP:
 

Cooperation project responds to the need for skilled workers in the Thai electroplating industry

In the context of the SCHOOLPLATE project, the Federal Institute for Vocational Education and Training (BIBB) and the Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Engineering and Automation IPA will support the Thai electroplating industry in developing suitable VET measures. The project partners signed the cooperation agreement on 29 January 2020.

Cooperation project responds to the need for skilled workers in the Thai electroplating industry

Thailand is an important base of the globally active electroplating industry: The industry, consisting predominantly of small and medium-sized companies, is an important provider for German companies and continues to face increasing demand. Skilled workers with broad interdisciplinary expertise and methodological competence in the fields of chemistry, materials and process engineering as well as mechanical and plant engineering are a decisive factor in ensuring the quality of electroplating processes.

At present, however, no suitable TVET programmes exist in Thailand that provide the necessary basics for a skilled occupation in the electroplating industry. This has far-reaching consequences: "The shortcomings resulting from a lack of know-how not only have consequences for the quality of the products at the expense of the end users, but also for the environment. In particular, the requirements here include knowledge for the proper treatment of wastewater and the energy-efficient operation of electroplating plants," Dr.-Ing. Martin Metzner and Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Klaus Schmid from the Electroplating Department of Fraunhofer IPA explained during the project kick-off meeting on 29 and 30 January in Bonn. BIBB Research Director Prof. Dr. Hubert Ertl opened the meeting.

Developing suitable TVET measures with SCHOOLPLATE

Hence, project "Exploration of TVET measures for electroplating in Thailand (SCHOOLPLATE)," funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), responds to the demand for skilled workers as formulated by the Thai industry. The overall objective is to develop suitable training and qualification measures for the electroplating industry in Thailand in cooperation with Thai project partners and to mainstream them in the national TVET system.

BIBB will be advising the SCHOOLPLATE project during the one-year exploratory phase. The focus will be on providing technical support in the analysis of qualification needs and the analysis of implementation options in the Thai TVET system.

BIBB already cooperated with the Office of the Vocational Education Commission at the Ministry of Education (OVEC) and the Thailand Professional Qualification Institute (TPQI) on TVET-related topics from 2003 - 2018.

For what is electroplating technology used?

Electroplating products have become an indispensable part of everyday life: examples of objects that have been further refined using electrochemical plating technology are bathroom and kitchen fittings, window and door handles, silver-plated cutlery, as well as gold- or silver-plated watches and fashion jewellery, or even the shiny trim on a ballpoint pen.

Galvanized surfaces are also used in all branches of industry: In the automotive industry, for example, hundreds of coated metal and plastic components are used per car to protect them from wear and tear and to ensure a good appearance (e.g. the controls inside the car). In the aerospace industry, electroplating processes play a decisive role in ensuring the resistance of surfaces despite extreme conditions. Finally, in the electronics industry, printed circuit boards, which are indispensable for computers, mobile phones and almost all other electronic products, only acquire their functionality by means of special electroplating techniques.

BP:

Schlagworte A-Z. Bitte wählen Sie einen Anfangsbuchstaben:

 

Kooperationsprojekt antwortet auf Fachkräftebedarf der thailändischen Galvanikindustrie

Mit dem Projekt SCHOOLPLATE werden das Bundesinstitut für Berufsbildung (BIBB) und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnik und Automatisierung IPA die thailändische Galvanikindustrie bei der Entwicklung eines beruflichen Qualifizierungsangebots unterstützen. Am 29. Januar 2020 unterzeichneten die Projektpartner die Kooperationsvereinbarung für das Sondierungsvorhaben.

Kooperationsprojekt antwortet auf Fachkräftebedarf der thailändischen Galvanikindustrie

Thailand ist ein wichtiger Standort der weltweit verbreiteten Galvanotechnik: Die überwiegend klein- und mittelständisch geprägte Industrie ist für deutsche Unternehmen ein wichtiger Lieferant und erfreut sich steigender Nachfrage. Fachkräfte mit breitem interdisziplinären Fachwissen und Methodenkompetenz in den Bereichen Chemie, Werkstoff- und Verfahrenstechnik sowie Maschinen- und Anlagenbau sind ein entscheidender Faktor, um die Qualität galvanotechnischer Verfahren zu gewährleisten.

Derzeit existiert jedoch kein berufliches Qualifizierungsangebot in Thailand, welches die notwendigen Grundlagen für eine qualifizierte Tätigkeit in der Galvanikindustrie vermittelt. Mit weitreichenden Folgen: „Die durch mangelndes Know-how resultierenden Mängel haben nicht nur Konsequenzen für die Qualität der Produkte auf Kosten der Endabnehmer, sondern im Zweifelsfall auch für die Umwelt. An Anforderungen zu nennen sind hier insbesondere Kenntnisse für die fachgerechte Abwasseraufbereitung und den energieeffizienten Betrieb von Galvanikanlagen,“ erläuterten die Projektleiter Dr.-Ing. Martin Metzner und Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Klaus Schmid von der Abteilung Galvanotechnik des Fraunhofer IPA beim Projektauftakttreffen am 29. und 30. Januar in Bonn, welches durch den BIBB-Forschungsdirektor, Prof. Dr. Hubert Ertl eröffnet wurde.

Mit SCHOOLPLATE geeignete Berufsbildungsmaßnahmen entwickeln

Das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Projekt „Sondierung beruflicher Bildungs- und Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen für Galvanotechnik in Thailand (SCHOOLPLATE)“ reagiert auf den durch die thailändische Industrie formulierten Fachkräftebedarf. Oberziel ist es, in Kooperation mit thailändischen Projektpartnern geeignete Ausbildungs- und Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen für die Galvanikindustrie in Thailand zu entwickeln und im nationalen Berufsbildungssystem zu verankern.

Während der einjährigen Sondierungsphase wird das BIBB das SCHOOLPLATE-Projekt beraten. Schwerpunkte bilden die fachliche Unterstützung in der Qualifikationsbedarfsanalyse sowie die Analyse von Umsetzungsoptionen im thailändischen Berufsbildungssystem.

Das BIBB kooperierte bereits von 2003 – 2018 mit dem Office of the Vocational Education Commission im Bildungsministerium (OVEC) und dem Thailand Professional Qualification Institute (TPQI) zu Fragen der beruflichen Bildung.

Wo kommt Galvanotechnik zum Einsatz?

Galvanotechnische Produkte sind aus dem alltäglichen Leben nicht mehr wegzudenken: Beispiele für solche, mittels elektrochemischer Beschichtungstechnik veredelten Alltagsgegenstände sind die glänzenden Sanitärarmaturen in Badezimmer und Küche, Fenster- und Türgriffe in Haus und Büro, das versilberte Essbesteck, vergoldete oder versilberte Uhren und Modeschmuck oder auch die glänzende Zierleiste am Kugelschreiber.

Galvanisierte Oberflächen finden außerdem in allen Industriezweigen Anwendung: So werden beispielsweise in der Kfz-Industrie pro Auto hunderte beschichtete Metall- und Kunststoffbauteile verbaut, um sie vor Verschleiß zu schützen und eine gute Optik (z.B. der Bedienelemente im Wageninneren) sicherzustellen. In der Luft- und Raumfahrt spielen galvanotechnische Verfahren eine entscheidende Rolle, um die Widerstandsfähigkeit von Oberflächen trotz extremer äußerer Einflüsse zu gewährleisten. Und in der Elektronikindustrie erhalten die für Computer, Handys und nahezu allen anderen elektronischen Produkte unerlässlichen Leiterplatten (auch bekannt als Platinen) erst mittels spezieller galvanischer Techniken ihre Funktionsfähigkeit.